We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, a great interactive cave experience.”
Review of Capricorn Caves

Capricorn Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.65*
and up
Capricorn Caves Fossil Tour
More Info
$24.65*
and up
Cathedral Cave Tour
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Rockhampton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Capricorn Caves offers a range of tours so there is sure be one to suit everybody's needs. The Cathedral Cave tour is the most popular, departing hourly, with wheelchair access and amazing natural acoustics in the Cathedral Chamber. Travel back in time on the new fossil tour where thousands upon thousands of fossils from tiny creatures to extinct giant beasts have been found by palaeontologists. Discover the secrets entombed in these caves over millions of years with our expert palaeo guides and hold real fossil treasures from our prehistoric past. This tour departs 3 times a day. Wanting to get off the beaten track? Try the adventure caving tour where you climbing, crawl and squeeze your way through the cave with the light of a torch till your surface on the cave ridge with 360 degree views. The tour can be adjusted to suit all age brackets and needs with family and adult only options available.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We visited the cave in the late afternoon and didn't expect for any tours to be available to us. Tours are run each hour between 9am and 3pm, this is the basic cave tour. If you are wanting a more specialized tour, these are less often and need to be booked. The tour was $28, which I initially thought was a bit pricey. There were 3 of us on the tour and the young guide was informative, professional and knowledgeable. The cave tour was the most interactive that I have been on, and it took about 1.5 hours, with plenty of discussions amongst us about times past, photo ops, etc. At the end of the tour, I felt I had got my money's worth, and the fact that there were so many scheduled tours, I didn't begrudge the entrance fee.
If you are in the area, well worth a visit.

2  Thank KazLoudspeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capcaves, Manager at Capricorn Caves, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

We are delighted to hear that we exceed your expectations & you enjoyed your tour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 344 of 479 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

The did this tour first time 14 years ago and have wanted to go back. We took our kids and family this time and everyone had a great time.

Thank Messyg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capcaves, Manager at Capricorn Caves, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Great to hear that the kids & family enjoyed the tour! Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Well run tour. lasted just on an hour and the cathedral in the cave was amazing. Open to all ages and tracks well maintained.

1  Thank Hannibal611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capcaves, Manager at Capricorn Caves, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Thank you for your review, very glad you enjoyed your tour experience at Capricorn Caves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a little gem. Our guide was knowledgable and interesting. She was able to explain the natural history of the caves as well as the european history of them as well. The caves are quite accessable and most people can easily negotiate their way through the cave tour. The formations are not as spectacular as some cave systems in Australia, but this did not make them uninteresting. Well worth the side trip.

Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capcaves, Manager at Capricorn Caves, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Thank you for your review, very glad you enjoyed your tour experience at Capricorn Caves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

please see this place other wise you are not visited in rockhampton and every will love it, we love it and come back

Thank 20griffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capcaves, Manager at Capricorn Caves, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

There are a range of tours, we would love to see you back again soon! Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capricorn Caves also viewed

Rockhampton, Queensland
 
Rockhampton, Queensland
 

Been to Capricorn Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing