We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny campground attached to Caves complex”
Review of Capricorn Caves

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capricorn Caves
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 22, 2012

As we wanted to stop and visit the caves we decided to take advantage of the attached campground instead of driving on to Rockhampton to stay there. We had a small campervan and were told there were no unpowered sites for campervans, only tents - the only time we encountered this restriction in our 3.5 week holiday. We paid the extra $5 for a powered site and drove down only to find that right next to the powered sites (but conveniently omitted from the campground map) were several flat, unpowered sites - it seems to be a business decision not to sell access to unpowered van sites, or perhaps the staff member who served us wasn't aware of them. The sites themselves were large and shady but not quite level so care is required to make sure your camper or caravan is level.

The bathroom facilities are clean and extensive but poorly-lit, only one light was on at night and none at all during the day and they were on sensors so there was no way to adjust.

There were 3 separate kitchen areas - one with a barbecue and sink and TV, another with a barbecue and sink, and a third by the tent camping area that had no barbecue but did have a kettle, toaster, and fridge as well as a sink and some cutlery and crockery. It was annoying having to go over to the tent camping area to use the kettle and toaster and I think the campground would be better off having one centralised camp kitchen.

As you are likely to only stay one night while you visit the caves, the facilities are adequate, but they were certainly below other campgrounds we stayed in for similar prices.

Room Tip: Make sure when you are setting up your campsite that your caravan or camper is level.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ilaeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Capricorn Caves
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 84 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

Only able to stay for 1 night,but loved it! Really large chalet with separate bedrooms. I really appreciated the generous welcome pack! Very friendly staff who spent ages finding me somewhere to stay for our onward journey north. The cave tour is a must!

Room Tip: Book more than 1 night! Also bring food with you as there are no supermarkets nearby and the local s...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 599annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capcaves, Manager at Capricorn Caves, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your 5 star review - We are glad you enjoyed your stay & we are happy we were able to help you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We enjoyed the whole experience a wonderful Devonshire tea watching the local Bushturkeys scratching around. The cave tour is wonderful it has so many different levals, so different to the southwest Western Australian caves I worked in.
They even carted out Bat dung many years ago.
Also they have a small caravan park attached, very neat & tidy with great facilties.
Loverly people with a very friendly attitude, definately worth a visit. Maybe even paln to stay by camping or even stay in a chalet/Self contained accommodation as offer as well.

Room Tip: Devonshire tea is great
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyMargaretRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capcaves, Manager at Capricorn Caves, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for you 5 star review we appreciate you taking the time to make this review =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way back up North, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We stayed in a cabin, which was in an amazing location. We saw so much wildlife hop on by while we relaxed on the deck. We did the tour in the afternoon of the caves and thought it was fantastic and so interesting and our guide was fabulous.
The cabin we stayed in was large and very clean. Would be fabulous for families.
Well worth the visit

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanabetraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capcaves, Manager at Capricorn Caves, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review, we are glad that the wildlife put on a show & you enjoyed your time here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Our guide Wes was great and we really pushed ourselves to the limit. If you are really claustrophobic and despise bugs, this isn't for you. You will be army crawling through some very tight places. It was way more intense than we thought it would be. Such a cool experience!! Highly recommend doing the adventure caving, it is well worth it!!

We stayed in Yeppoon, but the cabin at the caves looked pretty cool, great views and tons of wildlife. The staff is really nice!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jamahsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capcaves, Manager at Capricorn Caves, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks for your adventure caving review! You summed it up pretty accurately, with commando crawling & tight spaces! A tour named true to form - an adventure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I stayed here for a work social and we had such a great time. We did a tour tour through the caves and our tour gide was great. He talked clearly and loudly. I especially loved the cathedral part where people get married. The rooms were really clean and the service was wonderful.. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuBbLeGuM_kIkI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capcaves, Manager at Capricorn Caves, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your tour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Stopped off at the Capricorn Park in our campervan for one night’s stay in June, and as it was late in the evening the cave tours had finished for the day. This wasn’t a problem and the nice lady at check in said we could join a tour first thing in the morning. There weren't many staying at the park so we had our choice of sites - a nice quite one at the end under a tree with its own fire pit - perfect! The park is very peaceful and facilities were great, very clean and there is a communal kitchen. As the park is remote it retains it wilderness but there isn't much to do in the area at night. The Cave Bar is a couple of miles down the road but as we didn’t want to move the camper and there are no lights to walk we decided to take a stroll to the park shop for a browse at the gifts etc. Little did we know that one of my best Australia trip stories was about to unfold... one of the gifts was a large huntsman spider posing as a cuddly toy among the kangaroo teddies! Thanks to the swift movement of the owner and her friend, the spider was removed to a shrub rockery outside and released. I'm not sure who was more distressed - me or the huntsman but we all had a good laugh about it. After a long chat with the friendly owner and her friend we made our purchases (not including the spider!) and decided to make our way back to the camper. At this stage it was getting dusky so we managed to spot many more large spiders hanging from the trees. Despite this I actually had a good night’s sleep and that’s coming from a serious arachnophobe! Next morning we made the tour of the amazing Capricorn caves. Spotted another large Huntsman spider but the entire experience was absolutely fantastic. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and tour of the Capricorn Caves and a friendly owner and tour guide made our experience even more memorable. Would recommend to anyone - great nature experience. The real Australia!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hop_4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capcaves, Manager at Capricorn Caves, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review and sharing your story! We are glad it all had a happy ending! =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockhampton
14.4 mi away
Empire Apartment Hotel
Empire Apartment Hotel
#1 of 35 in Rockhampton
226 reviews
21.7 mi away
Emus Beach Resort
Emus Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Emu Park
106 reviews
12.4 mi away
Discovery Parks - Rockhampton
Discovery Parks - Rockhampton
#2 of 17 in Rockhampton
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Korte's Resort
Korte's Resort
#2 of 35 in Rockhampton
203 reviews
19.0 mi away
BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village
10.4 mi away
Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capricorn Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capricorn Caves

Address: 30 Olsen Caves Rd, Rockhampton, Queensland 4702, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Rockhampton
Price Range: $134 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capricorn Caves 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capricorn Caves is a tranquil bush retreat is located just 23klm north of Rockhampton minutes off the Bruce Highway. Spacious new one and two bedroom deluxe cabins are fully self contained, air conditioned with large decks for out door dining. Guests can enjoy easy walking guided tours through the spectacular limestone caves or a wild caving adventure. Cook up a BBQ, swim in the pool or photograph the kangaroos and other native animals. After dark guest can light up a camp fire and sit under the tropical starry skies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capricorn Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing