We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Spider Experience!”
Review of Capricorn Caves

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capricorn Caves
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Memorable Spider Experience!”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Stopped off at the Capricorn Park in our campervan for one night’s stay in June, and as it was late in the evening the cave tours had finished for the day. This wasn’t a problem and the nice lady at check in said we could join a tour first thing in the morning. There weren't many staying at the park so we had our choice of sites - a nice quite one at the end under a tree with its own fire pit - perfect! The park is very peaceful and facilities were great, very clean and there is a communal kitchen. As the park is remote it retains it wilderness but there isn't much to do in the area at night. The Cave Bar is a couple of miles down the road but as we didn’t want to move the camper and there are no lights to walk we decided to take a stroll to the park shop for a browse at the gifts etc. Little did we know that one of my best Australia trip stories was about to unfold... one of the gifts was a large huntsman spider posing as a cuddly toy among the kangaroo teddies! Thanks to the swift movement of the owner and her friend, the spider was removed to a shrub rockery outside and released. I'm not sure who was more distressed - me or the huntsman but we all had a good laugh about it. After a long chat with the friendly owner and her friend we made our purchases (not including the spider!) and decided to make our way back to the camper. At this stage it was getting dusky so we managed to spot many more large spiders hanging from the trees. Despite this I actually had a good night’s sleep and that’s coming from a serious arachnophobe! Next morning we made the tour of the amazing Capricorn caves. Spotted another large Huntsman spider but the entire experience was absolutely fantastic. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and tour of the Capricorn Caves and a friendly owner and tour guide made our experience even more memorable. Would recommend to anyone - great nature experience. The real Australia!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hop_4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    26
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
32
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
canberra
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I stayed here with a friend on a powered site in September 2011 for one night. The bush park is so peaceful and quiet I nearly couldn't sleep funnily enough! There is a covered communal kitchen area and a fire pit. The tour of the caves we took was fun and informative as well. I would have stayed there longer to relax and unwind if I could. The park is slightly out of the way but this adds to the charm and is the reason it is so peaceful.

If I ever get married I will be back to have my wedding in the cathedral cave. Amazing location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ionlytravelforwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Average bush camp, although has modern facilities & very well kept. At this price, $35 for a one night stay, (plus $26 per person for a look at the caves,seen one cave seen `em all), is WAY too expensive. For the well heeled traveller who does not have budget constraints I would go for it, having said that you need to be easily pleased.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank manxboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

We stayed in one of the cabins at the Capricorn Caves for just one night, but could have stayed there longer. Perfectly well kept cabins in a beautiful caravan park with lots of wildlife, that is still wild... (and not too touristy).
And of course we visited the caves which was after all the rain in February and March 2011 a very special experience with lots of bats and a perfect guide.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxx_LE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2008

The Capricorn Caves was a great experience. I stayed in one of the cabins and it was super clean, modern and all that we needed. And so quiet, kangaroes, stars, nature, a real eco experience. And the tour was fabulous, very informative and well worth it. I was lucky to experience a great night of Opera in the Caves and that was amazing. Fabulous voices, sound, organization. Totally recommend to all those traveling thru the Rockhampton area. The peace after a busy travel schedule was really appreciated.

  • Liked — Clean, spacious, everything we needed, quiet in a beautiful bush setting
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dedicatedtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2006

We stayed at budget hotels during a 5 week holiday, and this was the best lodge we stayed at.
The rooms are compact, yet extremely clean and well organized. The beds are from the 2000 Sydney Olympics (that's right, you sleep on beds Olympians have) and are very comfortable. The bathroom facilities are the cleanest I've ever seen, hotels included. They also have a common room that serves as a great place to sit around and watch tv. The owners of the lodges are also very friendly and take great pride in their property. While you're here, don't forget to check out the Caves themselves.
All in all, why bother staying in Rockhampton? Take the extra 5 minute drive out to this area and stay in this gem ;)

Helpful?
1 Thank redmud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockhampton
5.1 mi away
Henderson Park Farm Retreat
Henderson Park Farm Retreat
#4 of 34 in Rockhampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
14.4 mi away
Empire Apartment Hotel
Empire Apartment Hotel
#1 of 34 in Rockhampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
19.1 mi away
Rosslyn Bay Resort
Rosslyn Bay Resort
#2 of 3 in Yeppoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Korte's Resort
Korte's Resort
#2 of 34 in Rockhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
10.4 mi away
Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre
19.0 mi away
BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capricorn Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capricorn Caves

Property: Capricorn Caves
Address: 30 Olsen Caves Rd, Rockhampton, Queensland 4702, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Rockhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capricorn Caves 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capricorn Caves is a tranquil bush retreat is located just 23klm north of Rockhampton minutes off the Bruce Highway. Spacious new one and two bedroom deluxe cabins are fully self contained, air conditioned with large decks for out door dining. Guests can enjoy easy walking guided tours through the spectacular limestone caves or a wild caving adventure. Cook up a BBQ, swim in the pool or photograph the kangaroos and other native animals. After dark guest can light up a camp fire and sit under the tropical starry skies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capricorn Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing