We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Rocky!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Quest Rockhampton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest Rockhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
1 review
“Best place to stay in Rocky!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

By far, Quest is the best place to stay in Rocky. Spacious modern rooms, immaculately presented . Plenty of room for a family of 4. Very friendly professional service. Quick and informative check in and out. I was there on a public holiday and the staff had a wealth of local information about opening times of restaurants etc. Definitely recommend it to other families. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Two bedroom apartment is most suitable for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestRockhampton, Owner at Quest Rockhampton, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of Quest Rockhampton. It is great to hear that you were very happy with your apartment and the service you received. We look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Rockhampton when you are next in town.

Mandy Fallon
Franchisee
Quest Rockhampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    88
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
49
37
5
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had a one bedroom unit overlooking the river - fantastic. The unit was small but functional - everything was new. Had a great size balcony and useable kitchen. It is not actually close to anything but that means it was quiet. The internet was too tricky to get organised but it did have an ethernet connection (not normally free which is a big disappointment). Don't be caught out by the QANTAS FF points that normally come with Quest though - even though the book in the apartment assures your that FF point are earned on every stay (page 9) this property does not honour this. Extremely expensive, but still a good choice if you want quiet. Not sure if this will be our first choice next time in Rocky

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msdcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestRockhampton, Owner at Quest Rockhampton, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Quest Rockhampton and for taking the time to review our hotel. It is great to hear you were happy with the size of your apartment and the beautiful river views. Our location on the riverfront is very quiet and we are only a short walk to several great restaurants with the main street in the CBD only a 700m walk. We apologise for the confusion regarding Qantas Frequent Flyer points. Our property does offer Qantas Frequent Flyer points however as per the terms and conditions on the Quest Apartments website referred to on page 9 of the Quest Accommodation Directory, points are not eligible on discounted rates, therefore bookings made in December at the Quest Summer Sale rate are not eligible. It is unfortunate that this was not explained to you at the time of check in. This has been addressed with staff to ensure such issues do not arise again. Once again, thank you for taking the time to review Quest Rockhampton, your feedback is very important to us and assists us with making the guest experience as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

Mandy Fallon
Franchisee
Quest Rockhampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Great place to stay clean easy check in friendly staff would recommend the rooms are a little smaller than other quest properties and as a regular traveler to Rocky good value easy walk to restaurants and shops

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestRockhampton, Owner at Quest Rockhampton, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your very positive feedback and we have passed your comments on to our wonderful staff. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Rockhampton.

Mandy Fallon
Franchisee
Quest Rockhampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

The room was very nice , well appointed, very clean but this is to be expected perhaps as it had been newly enervated. The staff was very polite and very helpful.

A negative is the poor WIFI facility and the fact that restaurants are far away.

Room Tip: Choose the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmkaySriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestRockhampton, Owner at Quest Rockhampton, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Quest Rockhampton. We are pleased that you rated our hotel very highly, particularly the cleanliness of our apartments and our staff service. We apologise for any inconvenience caused with your wifi access. We have recently had some minor wifi issues which we have identified and we are in the process of rectifying. We have a number of great restaurants all within walking distance to the hotel all of which our friendly staff are familiar with and more than happy to provide recommendations on. In addition there are several local clubs offering a free courtesy bus for pick up and drop off which reception staff are more than happy to arrange for our guests.

Mandy Fallon
Franchisee
Quest Rockhampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taroom, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

My family stayed here last weekend and was very impressed with the easy check in. We could even check in early. The professional staff were able to assist with everything. Very spacious rooms we and well equipped kitchen. Large bathrooms. 2 balcony's - very well laid out apartment. Undercover parking was a bit squeezy but managed quite fine. Did not realise that they offer a free of charge pantry shopping service, all you pay for is the groceries and they take the groceries straight to your room - will definitely be taking advantage of this next time. Compared to other accommodation in Rockhampton that I have stayed at, they are a bit dearer but if you don't do it all the time I would recommend you give it them a try. Check out was just as easy no time spent at the computer waiting with family in the car just hand back the cards/key and walk on out. As this is only a new building the surrounding area is just bare dirt, but I was not staying there for that view, we had a lovely view of the River. And if you think you are too close to the bridge and traffic don't worry as the rooms are very sound proof. Even sitting out on the balcony the traffic was not a problem. I will definitely be returning !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestRockhampton, Owner at Quest Rockhampton, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Quest Rockhampton. We aim to provide our guests with a comfortable and pleasant stay so it is very nice to hear that you were impressed with our fantastic staff and the service provided. We are delighted that you were happy with the size of your apartment and its facilities along with the beautiful river views. We have passed your comments on to our staff and we look forward to welcoming you at Quest Rockhampton again.

Mandy Fallon
Franchisee
Quest Rockhampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
166 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have stayed in various Quest Apartments and have always been impressed with the cost and facilities. This is the most we have ever paid to stay at a Quest property (nearly 20% above the average) and it is the smallest room we have come across. Everything was a scaled-down version of the Quest formula that we know and we were disappointed. On the up-side, it is in a good location next to the river and within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank station
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestRockhampton, Owner at Quest Rockhampton, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Quest Rockhampton. We are a brand new hotel purpose built as a Quest property with studio, one and two bedroom apartments so it is disappointing to hear that you did not feel your room was reflective of the Quest standard. We are pleased that you were happy with the location of the building and rated our room cleanliness and service highly.

Mandy Fallon
Franchisee
Quest Rockhampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I decided to check out Quest Rockhampton as its been open for a couple of months - I bring quite a few senior academics to visit Rockhampton so I like to ensure I am putting them in somewhere welcoming and quiet where they can have a good night's sleep. All I can say is that no way will I be sending anyone to Quest.

The walls are paper thin, I spent all of the first night listening to someone cough all night and I mean constantly and loudly. I'm a really heavy sleeper but this racket kept me awake. Goodness knows what would happen if there was a fire these walls wouldn't hold anything back. Worse was when I asked reception for the culprit to be moved and was promised this would be looked into, nothing transpired and later I was lied to.

Apart from no sleep, there is no room service. Breakfast packs from reception are adequate. But in the evening the stretch of road to the nearest bistros is dark, scary and the pavement uneven - absolutely unsafe for a woman to walk along especially in heels.

The 'B' rooms are really the second bedroom of a small suite. They have a dividing door and albeit locked with a master key as a lone female traveller it felt unsafe. The rooms are also tiny - if you try to blow dry your hair and look in the bathroom mirror at the same time, then be prepared for bruised elbows and a bad hair day!

This Quest is probably most suitable for football teams, surfers etc. It is absolutely unsuitable for female business travellers or those who value their sleep and safety.

Room Tip: Preferably go elsewhere, or if stuck here make sure you are away from the major road. These 'roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelConnoisseuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestRockhampton, Owner at Quest Rockhampton, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with Quest Rockhampton. We were very disappointed that we failed to meet your expectations during your stay as we pride ourselves on endeavouring to provide the best experience possible for all of our guests.

Quest Rockhampton is a brand new property built to Australian Safety Standards. All doors in the building are fire rated and the property is fitted with smoke and heat detectors as well as state of the art fire warning systems.

With regard to your request to have the guest beside you moved to another room, while we did advise you that we would try to work something out, at no stage did we agree that we would move the other guest. When another room became available we did offer you the opportunity to change rooms which you declined. I apologise if you feel you were somehow mislead in this regard.

We were also disappointed to hear that you felt unsafe. Our building offers many security features including reception operating from 7am-10pm, onsite managers, video camera surveillance in common areas, secure lift access to designated floors and state of the art locking systems on our doors. As you stated in your review, the locks on adjoining doors in the apartments that are interconnecting are operated by a master keys on a separate locking system to guest keys.

Our hotel consists of studio, 1 and 2 bedrooms apartments with various configurations. It is unfortunate that you felt your studio room was not adequate in size, perhaps a 1 bedroom apartment would have been more suitable for your requirements.

With regard to your concerns that we do not offer room service, we have a number of local restaurants within walking distance to the building where we offer a chargeback service where your meal is charged back to your room account. This offers guests a variety of different restaurants to choose from. For those guests who choose to stay in their rooms, we offer a variety of options including a number of local restaurants that deliver to the hotel as well as a choice of healthy and convenient meals available from reception which can be heated up in your room. Many of our guests utilise this option.

We thank you for providing us an opportunity to reply to your concerns, we do appreciate your feedback and apologise that your experience at Quest Rockhampton was not as you had hoped.

Mandy Fallon
Franchisee
Quest Rockhampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
0.3 mi away
Empire Apartment Hotel
Empire Apartment Hotel
#1 of 35 in Rockhampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
#10 of 35 in Rockhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Regent Rockhampton
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Stirling Rockhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Rockhampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Rockhampton

Property: Quest Rockhampton
Address: 48 Victoria Pde, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Rockhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Rockhampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Rockhampton is situated on the banks of the Fitzroy River along Victoria Parade in the Rockhampton CBD within walking distance to dining, shopping, entertainment & sporting precincts. The studio, one and two bedroom serviced apartments offer state of the art kitchen, laundry facilities, separate living/dining area plus broadband internet access and balconies in most apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Rockhampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing