We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (527)
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveler rating
297
173
30
14
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
297
173
30
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river great location secure parking business trip apartment was clean short walk enjoyable stay staff were friendly and helpful studio room close to shops central location within walking distance easy access great place to stay good nights sleep facilities balcony
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
522 - 527 of 527 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I decided to check out Quest Rockhampton as its been open for a couple of months - I bring quite a few senior academics to visit Rockhampton so I like to ensure I am putting them in somewhere welcoming and quiet where they can have a good night's sleep. All I can say is that no way will I be sending anyone to Quest.

The walls are paper thin, I spent all of the first night listening to someone cough all night and I mean constantly and loudly. I'm a really heavy sleeper but this racket kept me awake. Goodness knows what would happen if there was a fire these walls wouldn't hold anything back. Worse was when I asked reception for the culprit to be moved and was promised this would be looked into, nothing transpired and later I was lied to.

Apart from no sleep, there is no room service. Breakfast packs from reception are adequate. But in the evening the stretch of road to the nearest bistros is dark, scary and the pavement uneven - absolutely unsafe for a woman to walk along especially in heels.

The 'B' rooms are really the second bedroom of a small suite. They have a dividing door and albeit locked with a master key as a lone female traveller it felt unsafe. The rooms are also tiny - if you try to blow dry your hair and look in the bathroom mirror at the same time, then be prepared for bruised elbows and a bad hair day!

This Quest is probably most suitable for football teams, surfers etc. It is absolutely unsuitable for female business travellers or those who value their sleep and safety.

Room tip: Preferably go elsewhere, or if stuck here make sure you are away from the major road. These 'rooms' are in pairs - really two room suite with a dividing door, the A rooms are the larger and the B rooms the second 'room' of a pair; the B rooms are tiny and I'm a size US2!!!
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelConnoisseuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestRockhampton, Owner at Quest Rockhampton, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with Quest Rockhampton. We were very disappointed that we failed to meet your expectations during your stay as we pride ourselves on endeavouring to provide the best experience possible for all of our guests.

Quest Rockhampton is a brand new property built to Australian Safety Standards. All doors in the building are fire rated and the property is fitted with smoke and heat detectors as well as state of the art fire warning systems.

With regard to your request to have the guest beside you moved to another room, while we did advise you that we would try to work something out, at no stage did we agree that we would move the other guest. When another room became available we did offer you the opportunity to change rooms which you declined. I apologise if you feel you were somehow mislead in this regard.

We were also disappointed to hear that you felt unsafe. Our building offers many security features including reception operating from 7am-10pm, onsite managers, video camera surveillance in common areas, secure lift access to designated floors and state of the art locking systems on our doors. As you stated in your review, the locks on adjoining doors in the apartments that are interconnecting are operated by a master keys on a separate locking system to guest keys.

Our hotel consists of studio, 1 and 2 bedrooms apartments with various configurations. It is unfortunate that you felt your studio room was not adequate in size, perhaps a 1 bedroom apartment would have been more suitable for your requirements.

With regard to your concerns that we do not offer room service, we have a number of local restaurants within walking distance to the building where we offer a chargeback service where your meal is charged back to your room account. This offers guests a variety of different restaurants to choose from. For those guests who choose to stay in their rooms, we offer a variety of options including a number of local restaurants that deliver to the hotel as well as a choice of healthy and convenient meals available from reception which can be heated up in your room. Many of our guests utilise this option.

We thank you for providing us an opportunity to reply to your concerns, we do appreciate your feedback and apologise that your experience at Quest Rockhampton was not as you had hoped.

Mandy Fallon
Franchisee
Quest Rockhampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was recommended by another hotelier in Townsville. It's conveniently situated close to the river adjacent to the main road leading to/ out of town (the a1). It's also in a district with plenty of other hotels and motels. It cost me aus dollars 170 at reception. Pros. The room was brand new with a kitchenette. Microwave, hot plates, coffee maker (supplied free with Italian coffee). Underground parking. Perfectly adequate. Cons. Variable friendliness of reception staff although the lady on night reception was particularly pleasant. Highly recommend on basis of experience of a 1 night stay

Room tip: Our room didn't have a view of the river! Ask for a room with a river view and there are multiple storeys to the hotel (over 8 floors)
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewbr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestRockhampton, Owner at Quest Rockhampton, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your positive review of the new Quest Rockhampton. We are delighted that you found the rooms of a high quality and enjoyed our convenient location. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Rockhampton soon.

The Team at Quest Rockhampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle F, Owner at Quest Rockhampton, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2015
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews