We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rockhampton YHA
Nearby Hotels
$92
$78
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Metro Motel(Rockhampton)
$65
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
22
38
41
15
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
38
41
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtesy busnice dining areafree wifiairlie beachbotanical gardensmin walksmall poolonly stayed one nightair conensuite bathroomother guestsgreat kitchenbusy roadbbq areacapricorn cavesbackpackerscabin
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 126 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a night en- route to rainbow beach to break the greyhound journey.

On arrival in rocky we were picked up by the shuttle bus which was a bonus.

On arrival a nice lady called steph advised the room wasn't ready but give it a few hours and it would be which was fine as it meant we could explore rocky,

Shopping centre and McDonald's etc was a 20 minute walk, there is also a nandos close by along with subway, KFC, dominos etc and a woolworths - just a straight 20 minute walk to these.

Our room was fine it was a hut/chalet very clean with its own little bathroom. We had sitcom and tea and coffee facilities.

Steph was chatty and courteous so a re bonus.

Not a lot more to say as we were not in rocky more than 24 hours. But the shopping mall was good with lots of shops including Kmart, Coles and a big food court.

I noticed many negative reviews in the place and on arriving it may appear a little shabby however it was friendly, clean and I was pleasantly surprised, for the money it cost to have our own room and bathroom 20 mins from the shops - happy days.

Cheers steph and rocky!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitchandsheyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

You can got courtesy pick-up and deposit in the morning from/to the bus and train station. This hostel is just reposing as the Rockhampton City is. On week-end the hostel can organize you to go to "the bull riding demonstration". Friendly personnal and athmosphere. Not far from a bus station to go around the city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mathieu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Hostel was nice enough. Stayed for 2 nights but I have to be honest there isn't much to do in Rockhampton.

The hostel was clean and staff friendly. We stayed in a female 6 share room.

One evening we went out to look around the town and when we got back to the room at half 8 the lights were off and everyone was in bed!!!

Not the best hostel to socialise!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KWard126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We wanted to stay there but after checking the rooms out, we decided otherwise. The double and twin rooms were tiny, the whole place looked run down and shabby, not what you would expect from a YHA hostel. We didn't see the kitchen and bathrooms though. Three big dogs roaming around didn't help to improve the first impression. Maybe a good place for very young people, but if you are over 25 you would rather spend a few dollars more for a hotel/motel room.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank gbu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were impressed with Rockhampton YHA despite reading some bad reviews on here. The guy on reception was really friendly and helpful he came to pick us up at 6.30am and then dropped us back off to the bus stop at the same time the next morning. He also gave us a handy map of the area and loads of information about places to visit. There isn’t lots to do in Rockhampton and most people come here to watch the rodeo and eat steak. We did both and the YHA gave us a free transfer to The Great Western Hotel where the rodeo takes place, and on Wednesdays meals on the specials board are 2 for 1.

The accommodation at the hostel was really nice. The cabin we stayed in (ex Olympic games) was great and had an en-suite we were not expecting. The kitchen was big and well equipped and the lounge and dining area were large too. The only thing we didn’t like that much was there seemed to be a lot of long termers which made the place feel a bit more unfriendly.

Overall though a nice hostel with great staff!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2xRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews