We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this one!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leichhardt Hotel Rockhampton
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Reviewed April 19, 2007

This is a 5 storey hotel in downtown Rockhampton. It's old, built in the early 1970s judging by the elevators and construction. The Leichhardt Hotel has changed names, owners and managers many times over the past couple of decades. The last time it was approaching 'good' was when Mercure held the management rights. Mercure refurbed and gave the staff some training. In fact, they ran it like a hotel. With another change of ownership came new managers and it's back to being just plain awful. The Mercure refurb from about 5 years ago is running out of steam. The blanket on my bed had holes in it, for example. The bathrooms are pretty bad, the AC is a real hit-and-miss affair. Oh, and if you pay extra for a 'king executive suite' on the 5th floor, you have to haul your bags up two flights of stairs because the elevators don't go all the way to the top floor! The staff are rough to match most of the clientelle. It's become a real 'blokes' pub. For those of you who don't know Australian slang, that's a hotel where men walk around with big guts, goatees, mullets and bottles of beer in their hand, pushing and shoving each other, swearing a lot and generally being obnoxious. I had the misfortune of not being able to get in to the Coffee House hotel or the recently revamped Travelodge. If Rockhampton is booked out again due to conferences in town, I would rather reschedule my business trip rather than stay at the Leichhardt. Take my advice and do the same. It's a 'must avoid'.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank oneword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 174 of 174 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2007

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions over the last 5 years. The first stay was back when it was held under Accor group as a Mercure. Now it is not with Accor things at the facility have been updated and improved unfortunately the rooms that are still in a time vacuum.

The hotel is a three and a half star property and does not try to be anything else. The rooms are always clean, staff always happy and helpful. The location, for my needs, is perfect. I recommend the “suite size” rooms on the fifth and sixth floors. The strength of the facility is in its meals and el fresco street front eating that is popular with the locals. There is ample parking next to the facility if you are on a drive holiday. Across the street is the Police complex.

All in all an easy and basic stay, I never have had a problem there.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrHobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank tripadvuser09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kolazu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
0.4 mi away
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton
1.1 mi away
The Q Motel Rockhampton
The Q Motel Rockhampton
#19 of 35 in Rockhampton
56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cosmopolitan Motel & Serviced Apts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
CBD Luxury Accommodation
CBD Luxury Accommodation
#20 of 35 in Rockhampton
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
#14 of 35 in Rockhampton
897 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Avenue Hotel Motel
Park Avenue Hotel Motel
#29 of 35 in Rockhampton
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leichhardt Hotel Rockhampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leichhardt Hotel Rockhampton

Address: Cnr Denham and Bolsover St., Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Price Range: $66 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leichhardt Hotel Rockhampton 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel in 7-story building dating from 1864. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Leichhardt Hotel Rockhampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing