We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine room, not so great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“fine room, not so great service”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We booked to stay in this hotel through virgin holidays. It was a great price and a clean, comfortable room. Yes our view sucked, but that wasn't important to us. The bathroom is starting to age a little, but it was perfectly serviceable and there were no hot water problems - and I took a very long shower. The bed was comfortable, even for my pregnant sensibilities.

The reason why I am rating this as a three is the service. Checking in was slow. My mother had called twice to arrange and confirm twin beds. There was only a king bed in our room. My Mum slept on the foldout sofa which she said was comfortable (she's not very picky).

I left my phone charger in the room (my fault). I knew exactly where it was and what it looked like. It took 6 phone calls over four days to be told it couldn't be located. This included three calls on the day we checked out. Everyone I spoke to was nice, but not helpful. At least the last person I talked to actually called back (the other two people promised to, but didn't).

Anyway, I'm just disappointed that I can't give this a higher rating because of the customer service. Everything else was good for the price.

Room Tip: If you want a twin room, I don't know what advice to give you. Maybe call another three times t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ughboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBarford, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear ughboot,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your constructive feedback.

Please accept our apologies for the lack of contact regarding you phone charger and the bedding configuration you received. These issues have been raised with both the Front Office and Housekeeping teams.

Kind Regards,

Shaun Barford
Hotel Manager
Travelodge Rockhampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    345
    219
    70
    41
See reviews for
127
233
58
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked this hotel online as we had an early morning flight out of Rocky. We were upgraded to a river view room. The room was very comfortable with a balcony overlooking the main entrance, car park and the river. Check in and out was easy no drama. It was a good place to stay for the night.

Room Tip: Sleep with the balcony door closed as the late night noise can be a bit disturbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBarford, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Maz11,

The team at Travelodge Rockhampton are glad you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for you positive feedback.

Kind Regards,

Shaun Barford
Hotel Manager
Travelodge Rockhampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed here in July and never had any problems with my river view room. I rang the reception to let them know I had my infant son as well as i couldnt seem to put him on the booking and they were helpful and friendly with no problems. Parking is an issue especially at night and when I left my car out on the road, well lets just say the bats had a field day :(. But overall I would stay again, in fact iam heading back down on the 13th to 15th of this month. Just going for the standard room this time so we will see if they are any different i hope not because it would be a shame to ruin the good reputation

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBarford, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear John S,

Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent stay. The Team are also appreciative of your kind comments regarding the service you experienced and we do look forward to welcoming you back this month.

Kind Regards,

Shaun Barford
Hotel Manger
Travelodge Rockhampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed for 1 night on business during August. Check-in and checkout was efficient and pleasant. Booked one of the “chooseday” specials and did not need to ask for the special which is an improvement on my previous stays here.

The room itself is functional. It had a desk for a good sized workspace with relatively easy access to the power points. A small 2 seater lounge is also provided. I also had a balcony which looked out over the river and the hills beyond which was very pleasant and would suggest asking for as it is a lot more pleasant than the view from the other side of the hotel.

Location is okay. It is about a 10 minute walk into the main CBD which on a hot day (which is most of them) is enough to build up a bit of a sweat.

There is also a gym, small pool and spa should you need them.

Overall, my brief stay was pleasant and met expectations. However, this visit I ate with a small group in the a la carte restaurant. Given that Rocky is the “Beef Capital of Australia” we were underwhelmed by the presentation and cooking of the steaks – they got close to going back but hunger overruled. It was a very quiet night in the restaurant with only a few tables being used but the service was distracted and subsequently slow. With a bit more attention we would probably have ordered another bottle of wine and stayed a little longer but we choose to move to another venue instead.

I will go back to the hotel on future business trips but will not be eating in the restaurant again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essexboy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBarford, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Essexboy999,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Rockhampton.

Your constructive feedback is most appreciated and has been discussed with all department heads including the Head Chef and Restaurant Manager.

Kind Regards,
Shaun Barford
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed in a studio at the Travelodge for 1 night as part of a Queensland road trip.

The accommodation standard for a very cheap price was nicely surprising.

We received great service from the staff at every point.

The rooms were big for hotel studios and very clean. Inside the room was very quiet and noise didn’t travel.

We made use of a very good coin laundry on site.

Our only gripe was that the bed was quite hard.

A blessing is disguise was that the on-site breakfast closes at 9.30 but that made us go a couple of doors down to The Edge which provide a great quality and cheaper breakfast with sensational coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a walk in shower if mobility is an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBarford, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear hollc,

The team at Travelodge Rockhampton are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your warm comments regarding service.

Your honest feedback regarding our breakfast service has also been considered and is appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Shaun Barford
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

While my two night stay was a business trip, and not something I personally paid for, the room was over $200 per night, the room was tiny with a view of the roof, and the whole hotel is severly outdated. The food in the hotel was not at all good, although the breakfast was ok. I'm not a food snob, but I do not call grilled Bonocini cheese with sliced tomatoes on toasted bread as Bruschetta.
It was also rather cold in Rocky and there was no blanket to be found at all, and I shouldn't have to call Reception for one.
The bathroom also had a mini-flood because there is no door on the shower, so the shower head can't be moved. The duvet on the bed was also the type in cheap motels, and I hesitated to sit on it. At least in nice hotels they cover the bed with crisp white sheets that look clean.
Like others, I struggle to find anything positive to say except that the staff were nice enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelMNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBarford, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear MelMNSW,

Thank you for your constructive feedback. All items have been discussed with the department heads.

I have shared your positive comment regarding service with the team.

Kind Regards,

Shaun Barford
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rockhampton hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Pulling up in a taxi and seeing this old '60's style motel building, I was adamant that paying almost $200 for a room in central QLD was abit of an ask.
However, check-in was smooth, friendly and efficient, and my room, although having no view other than the carpark facing pool, was bright, modern and spacious.
No complaints about the service.
As I say, good but not great when you can secure a room in a major metro city for less....

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for a view over the river, rather than the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBarford, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear MickeyTraveller,

The team at Travelodge Rockhampton are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your warm comments regarding service.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Shaun Barford
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Empire Apartment Hotel
Empire Apartment Hotel
#1 of 35 in Rockhampton
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton
0.7 mi away
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Criterion Hotel Motel
The Criterion Hotel Motel
#21 of 35 in Rockhampton
173 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Cattle City Motor Inn
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Stirling Rockhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton

Property: Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
Address: 86 Victoria Pde, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rockhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Toga Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Rockhampton Hotel Rockhampton
Travel Lodge Rockhampton
Rockhampton Travel Lodge
Rockhampton Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing