We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average accommodation.”
Review of Fitzroy Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzroy Motor Inn
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was a last minute booking so wasn't sure what to expect. We booked a family room which really isn't any bigger to the other rooms in the motel, it just has more beds squashed into it. Guy at reception did not speak English very well, so check in was quick as general conversation couldnt be made. Motel is basically across the road to a number of take-away shops, so we didn't need to drive anywhere. Room was a bit dated and had an old boxed style air-con which took a bit to get cranking. Rooms do have a mini-bar but make sure you check it on arrival. We didn't check ours till we were leaving and discovered that there was a bottle of water missing. Trying to explain this to the guy at reception who spoke little English was rather painful. If you have time to shop around for accommodation then make sure you do as this wouldn't be my first choice next visit to Rockhampton.

Room Tip: Check Mini Bar on arrival
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncratahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Fitzroy Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 63 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

This motel is easy to find if you're on the way north to south. Very convenient to loads of fast food, restaurant, convenience stores and cafes. Not right on main road so traffic could be worse. In comparison to other Qld motels which are all vastly overpriced and daggy, this one is adequate for a one night stopover. Chinese staff were friendly, I thought, and I didn't have any difficulty communicating with them (what's to talk about, after all). I actually was impressed that some of our new arrivals have made it out of Melb and Sydney and wish more would discover the world beyond the megopolis.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here for a family trip. Room faced busy main street, so was noisy at night. Comfortable room and motel was in convenient location. Shower/bath was not very safe and difficult to shower properly due to location of shower head over bath. Bar fridge was tiny and freezer section was slightly broken.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

the motel was fairly quiet as in was off main high way, we booked a family room,it was big and lots of space to move around especially with kids. the room is very clean in fact the cleanest i have been in a motel, staff at the reception was very nice and eager to help when ask for directions. very convenient location to takeaways and restaurants, all withing walking distance. clean rooms, good locations, friendly staff highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
1  Thank Lizard73
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Rooms were just adequate,People at Office were hard to understand and be understood.Dryer was not working,Noise after hours was appalling and nothing was done to subdue it.
the bed was not good either.Shower needed cleaning.Meal service was very slack.Not recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The showers didn't have hot water - sad for a weary traveller.

The air conditioner was very old and very noisy. The neighbouring people sat on a seat directly out the front of our window and smoked and shouted into the night.

There was only one blanket for two beds, and it all felt a bit run down. Definitely not what I would expect for four stars.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CrystalD86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Albert Court Motel
Albert Court Motel
#24 of 35 in Rockhampton
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Metro Motel
#33 of 35 in Rockhampton
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cosmopolitan Motel & Serviced Apts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Q Motel Rockhampton
The Q Motel Rockhampton
#21 of 35 in Rockhampton
42 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Cattle City Motor Inn
0.3 mi away
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzroy Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzroy Motor Inn

Address: 78 Fitzroy St | Corner of Campbell St, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Price Range: $68 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzroy Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A three and a half star Motel with 22 spacious units all on the ground floor and all with undercover parking outside your unit. Located a short walk to the Historic City center, the Fitzroy River and the Restaurant Precinct. 5 minutes to the Train Station and Airport and 1 minute to the Coach Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzroy Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rockhampton
Rockhampton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing