We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, would avoid next time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Rockhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Booked a cabin, as we were expecting later arriving due to drive. Got in around 1700 and checked in to room instead of powered site, not knowing price, had to go sort out price with reception. $167. Thought was a little high for a basic style motel room. But easier to stay then to move the family. Other wise would of gone to the site instead. Went to dinner, came back ready to go to bed and noticed that the extra "children" bunk bed we had to make our selves before son could go to bed. Over all nice cabin a d great shower facilities, just for the price of a basic motel room style cabin you would think when booking and being honest that you are booking for two adults and one child that the appropriate beds are made and ready for your arrival. Didn't get any time to check facilities out in the park as in late and gone very early but would look around else where if passing again through Rockhampton.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank RandB1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Rockhampton, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

We're sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. if you would like to discuss this further please contact us on suctomerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Discovery Parks - Rockhampton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 299 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have stayed here twice this year - in January when it was very quiet and again in June when it was much busier.

The toilet block is modern and clean, the pool is lovely (particularly welcome in January when the weather was hot!). Staff at reception were pleasant and helpful.

Not too far a walk to the best place for steak in Rockhampton.

All in all a good place to stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Stanandahalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Rockhampton, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

After staying 1 night, we decided to stay another and went to reception to book our 2nd night stay first thing in the morning. Later that afternoon, we received a phone call to ask if the port-a-cot in the room was ours (of which it was, along with the extra mattress, bedding and carry bag) and that Housekeeping had removed it from the room. We were told the cot would be put back in the room as housekeeping werent informed of the extra night stay. Later that evening when we returned to the cabin, not only did i find a FOLDED port-a-cot, it wasnt MY port-a-cot. It was a completely different one!! I walked down to reception at about 7:45pm and reception closed at 7.30pm, so I tried calling the after hours "EMERGENCY" number. Im glad no one was in real danger because no one would answer the after hours phone! By this stage, I was really angry, I had a 7 month old baby asleep and NO WHERE to put him to bed! I walked closer to the office and realised that the "caretakers" lived right next door and the front door was open. Too busy to answer the after hours "Emergency" number because they are already in their pyjamas watching TV. I was infuriated even further by seeing this! After informing them of the situation, they came around to our cabin with MY port-a-cot and said "there must have been a mix up with departure dates..." to which I replied "There cant have been, we booked this room 1st thing this morning" - Another excuse from the caretaker and no remorse shown at all! All they could offer was "Let us know if there is anything we can do for you next time you stay..." There wont be a next time after this! They couldnt even offer a refund for the inconvenience. Utterly disgusted with the response from the caretakers.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Rockhampton, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback - sorry to hear that on this occasion your expectations were not met. If you would like to discuss this further please contact us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was my first caravan park I have ever stayed in. The staff were delightful and so helpful. I asked for help in reversing, so Jase did it for me - thanks Jase, I was really sweating on not being able to get the van parked.. The park was well laid out and spacious. The amenities were sooo clean and well maintained. If ALL parks are like this, I never want to go home...lol Only downside - if someone was to stay for more than one or two nights, the rainbow lorikeets might get a bit noisy. I didn't mind but they do make a bit of a racket at sundown.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Rockhampton, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thanks for your review! Very happy to hear you enjoyed your first caravanning experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Five of us booked a cabin for a week while we were swimming at the Masters National Swimming Carnival. The cabin was fine, except: Two showers but just one toilet between five adults; Wifi so expensive we didn't bother.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Rockhampton, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thanks for sharing your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed in a cabin which was clean, spacious and safe. Would recommend as an overnighter or longer. Large variety of accom types and price scale to meet your budget P&M nearby drive to Yepoon and emu park.

Room Tip: Nearby heritage village a must see
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Rockhampton, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Lovely park, grounds are well maintained, very relaxing tropical surrounds. Rooms are comfortable and spacious.
they have 2 swimming pools, both great.
plenty for families too, with jumping pillow and playground.
Staff were super friendly and knowledgeable about area.
Was a surprise to find a spacious park so close to town and shopping.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Leisure Villa for a single or couple, very spacious with everything you could...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockhampton
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
#13 of 35 in Rockhampton
839 reviews
2.8 mi away
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton
3.7 mi away
Best Western Cattle City Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ambassador Motel
Ambassador Motel
#32 of 35 in Rockhampton
96 reviews
20.1 mi away
BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village
4.2 mi away
Southside Holiday Village
Southside Holiday Village
#5 of 17 in Rockhampton
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Rockhampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Rockhampton

Address: 394 Yaamba Rd | North Rockhampton, Rockhampton, Queensland 4701, Australia (Formerly Tropical Wanderer Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Rockhampton
Price Range: $49 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Parks - Rockhampton 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Parks - Rockhampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing