We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GROUP BOOKING”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Rockhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“GROUP BOOKING”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Five of us booked a cabin for a week while we were swimming at the Masters National Swimming Carnival. The cabin was fine, except: Two showers but just one toilet between five adults; Wifi so expensive we didn't bother.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Rockhampton, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thanks for sharing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    89
    53
    26
    14
See reviews for
124
97
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed in a cabin which was clean, spacious and safe. Would recommend as an overnighter or longer. Large variety of accom types and price scale to meet your budget P&M nearby drive to Yepoon and emu park.

Room Tip: Nearby heritage village a must see
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Rockhampton, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Lovely park, grounds are well maintained, very relaxing tropical surrounds. Rooms are comfortable and spacious.
they have 2 swimming pools, both great.
plenty for families too, with jumping pillow and playground.
Staff were super friendly and knowledgeable about area.
Was a surprise to find a spacious park so close to town and shopping.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Leisure Villa for a single or couple, very spacious with everything you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

I found this place well designed for anybody setting up a tent. The camping areas have flat ground sheets for you to lay down your tent and the powered site had plenty of sockets to charge up devices. The camp kitchen was a bit disappointing mainly because of a tiny bar fridge but apparently they are going to do a bit renovation for it. Not too noisy either and the amenities are pretty fantastic.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rupert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Rockhampton, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014

After a massive 4 days driving from WA and reading poor reviews, hubby and I were hesitant to stay here. We were heading for a usually Rocky accommodation, when we decided we would rather stay in our own cabin instead of a motel room. We pulled up and were greeted by 2 lovely staff. They were happy to help us with accommodation for the night, and even took the time to listen to our big adventure. Our cabin would have to be one of the best places we have stayed on our 12000km adventure. Spacious, clean, neat and tidy. Kitchen wise, everything we needed for our stay was right at our finger tips. Our room was a lovely size and the bathroom was nice aswell. The parks laundry facility was a quick 2min walk away. Unfortunately it was raining so we didn't get the opportunity to walk around the park, however, if it wasn't raining, we would not have stopped.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolek80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Rockhampton, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks for your review! It's great to hear that you were very happy with your decision to try us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the park on future trips - and hopefully the rain will hold off so you can make full use of our park and facilities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nana Glen, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2014

After 6 hours of travelling with our 3 children we arrived at the park, we entered our cabin ( after driving around the park in the dark trying to find it!) sat down & ate our dinner. When we started bringing our bags in we realised that the beds weren't made, there were dirty towels on the floor, & rubbish still in the bin! We thought we were in the wrong room ( we got our keys out of the night box & didn't get a map), we weren't, it just hadn't been cleaned! We were given an upgraded cabin that I had to put the linen on the children's beds & the bathroom didn't have curtains ( it had a fence covering the window but we could see through it), the whole cabin felt dirty & we were definately disappointed, we have always stayed in Big 4 parks & never had anything close to this experience!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Rockhampton, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We value all feedback from our guests, both positive and negative and we are sorry to hear that your recent stay at Discovery Holiday Parks did not meet your expectations. Should you wish to discuss your comments further please feel free to contact us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here for one night on a driving trip during January. The initial impression we got was of a big, well maintained park but after heading to the superior one bedroom chalet we were very disappointed in the rooms. First of all it was dreadfully stuffy and hot and when we turned on the air con it had only one speed and although there was a ceiling fan, but this didn't reach to where our two young girls were sleeping. We stayed in a self catering chalet as we wanted to cook rather than eat out but found that there was little in the way of equipment compared to the other parks we have stayed in on our journey. It was adequate for what I had decided to cook.

The "free" cable advertised was badly received and hard to watch.

The pool areas were ok but in the larger of the two there was a larger group at a table smoking when it clearly states that you are not to on the gate. I went to reception to report this and the girl behind the desk to barely have given a hoot. She said "oh well, you are not supposed to" and I pointed out that I didn't want my two young kids breathing in that when it was prohibited, she offered to get the Manager to check on it. We decided to go to the pool just directly behind reception and there were parents drinking alcohol ( another no no) and kids doing bombs. No one said anything and we may as we'll have had a bath. Very hot water and not relaxing with all of the kids jumping in on top of you. Though the park says it is the parents responsibility to supervise the children - it might pay to supervise the parents better.

The morning we left, we were checking under the beds etc for toys etc and found a large bottle of half consumed Coke which was not ours. Goes to show how well they clean the place. Pretty poor really.

We have stayed in a number of Big 4 parks driving from Brisbane to Townsville and back and this has been the worst of them all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebbywoo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Rockhampton, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We value your feedback and you can be assured that we will be following up on your comments with our team. Please feel free to contact us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au should you wish to discuss your comments further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockhampton
3.7 mi away
Best Western Cattle City Motor Inn
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
#10 of 35 in Rockhampton
809 reviews
2.9 mi away
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village
0.4 mi away
Ambassador Motel
Ambassador Motel
#32 of 35 in Rockhampton
96 reviews
3.9 mi away
Korte's Resort
Korte's Resort
#2 of 35 in Rockhampton
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Rockhampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Rockhampton

Property: Discovery Parks - Rockhampton
Address: 394 Yaamba Rd | North Rockhampton, Rockhampton, Queensland 4701, Australia (Formerly Tropical Wanderer Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Rockhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Parks - Rockhampton 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Parks - Rockhampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing