We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feed The Man Meat”

The Great Western Hotel
Ranked #59 of 192 Restaurants in Rockhampton
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Brisbane QLD
Level Contributor
158 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Feed The Man Meat”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This Hotel is opposite one of the best Motels in Rockhampton. It is a Man's Pub. It is very poular with the locas and actually rund rodeo's out the back of the Hotel. They offer a lot of steaks on the Meni and so thats what I had. Lot's of different choices in regards to sauces. The sald was very nice to with gourmet lettuce and Beer Batter fries. Only thing they didn;t ask how I wanted it cooked. It came out well done.

Normally don't like going to pubs on my own but the atmosphere over there was very warm and friendly. The staff were all very friendly as well.

Will eat there again if I am in Rockie.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CamnViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    63
    29
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
176 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great steak!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Great country pub with simple fare. Beautiful steaks that we're cooked superbly. Definitely worth a return visit and great value for money

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeautGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charters Towers, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gigantic meals in an outback setting”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My husband and I visited this pub one evening on a trip to ROckhampton for Beef Australia 2012. I ordered one of the specials - Veal served with mushrooms, and my husband the mixed grill. Mine was yummy and a decent portion, but my husband's meal was gigantic and he almost couldn't finish it. The decor inside is typical country AUstralia and outside has a rodeo arena, which I'm sure creates a fantastic atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zelia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallacoota, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fun concept but poorly executed food”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We ate in the dining room and given that Rockhampton is the beef capital of Australia we had high expectations for the steak at this iconic hotel. We were disappointed from the time we walked in, our booking was on record but it still took the staff 5 minutes to seat us. The steaks were expensive and very ordinary - they are sold by weight which is interesting, mine was 1/3 inedible fat. The reef and beef had the lumpiest sauce I have ever seen - I would not serve it at home and the prawns were undoubtedly frozen imported prawns. Very disappointing and would not recommend. The hotel is being sold today so hopefully it has been picked up by someone who will inject a little love into it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aqob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Pub Grub With a Side Dish of Rodeo”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We had a great night at the Great Western. We went on a Friday night and recommend you book the inside dining room is not huge. We could have also dined outside in the arena with a BBQ buffet but my wife chose to eat inside.

Our steaks were top quality and cooked exactly how they were ordered. The staff were so friendly and even bought out cars and colouring books for the 4yr old.

Go on a Friday night and you can check out the rodeo practice. Which is free to watch. The practice even came with background music and ring announcer so it was still really good. Worth a visit if you are driving through town.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cambat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Western Hotel also viewed

Rockhampton, Queensland
Rockhampton, Queensland
 
Rockhampton, Queensland
Rockhampton, Queensland
 

Been to The Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing