We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cuisine”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Malaysia Hut Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 194 Restaurants in Rockhampton
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: http://www.menumate.com.au/malaysia-hut-restaurant
Rockhampton
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great cuisine”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

It is a place i will always return for a bit of Asian cuisine. Dine in or take away are options and both are good. BYO drinks definitely shaved the price of the dinner which is good. Recommended for a romantic night or out with some friends

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Been here many many times,has always been good food,friendly service and pretty fairly priced. Decor is only average but food makes up for that. Lunch meals are a real good deal

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Best Malaysian and Chinese food anywhere! The chefs are amazing and the owners so friendly! Great for families or a quiet romantic dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueHooper11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Morgan, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An old favourite revisited”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Haven't eaten here in years and decided to last Saturday. More then happy with the food, freshness and service. Place was packed, no spare tables which says something in Rockhampton! Don't go expecting the ritz, just a good suburban Malay/Chinese restaurant which are often the best and this didn't disappoint.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerrilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Expected better”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Dined at Malaysia Hut for the first time last night on recommendation from family who live in Rockhampton. I have to say I wasn't that impressed.

The entrees we shared around the table were pretty bad. The steamed dim sims tasted somehow over-steamed i.e. watery and fairly tasteless. The chicken satay sticks were okay, but the satay sauce itself was grainy and dry - more like a paste somehow, and I found it a bit unpleasant.

Mains were also shared around the table. The beef in the Mongolian Beef was a bit tough and the dish lacked flavour in general. The Beef Rendang was okay in terms of flavour and tenderness of the meat, but I've had much better before. The Crackling Pork was not good - really fatty and hardly 'crackling' (apparently this dish is normally excellent). The Kung Po Chicken was good, but we requested it hot, and it came out quite mild. I found the Honey Chicken the nicest dish of the evening, with a thin crunchy coating and very nice sauce.

The service during the evening was pretty good, though our bill was wrong with drinks overcharged. This however was fixed up straight away with no fuss. The atmosphere in the place I found to be almost zero, but in a little suburban place I guess you don't expect a lot in this regard.

Maybe just got an off night, but have to say expected better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reshous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malaysia Hut Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Malaysia Hut Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing