We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Denison Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Rockhampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We loved this hotel! We stayed in March 2013 and I have been meaning to write a review ever since--

It is a little pricier than what we would normally go for but honestly - its worth it.

The exterior is beautiful, set inside a renovated Queenslander with little manicured garden areas.
The room: we stayed in a spa suite with king sized bed - it was pure luxury! The interior decoration is gorgeous; thick carpet, floor length curtains, 4 poster bed, spa bath.. it was beautiful to look at
We were also really happy to find plenty of towels and complimentary toiletries

BREAKFAST: breakfast was included in our room price and wow we loved it!!!!!!
When we checked in and the nice lady on reception said come down here for the breakfast area we looked around (its a pretty small room) and thought, really?
But the breakfast buffet is creatively laid out- in the draws of the dressing table and along the furniture tops.. it was EXCELLENT
there was eggs, bacon, toast, cereals, fruit, mini muffins and a super cute waffle maker shaped in a love heart <3

We really enjoyed our stay here, would highly recommend if you want to splash out in some luxury!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 254 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

We decided to stay at the Denison Hotel primarily because it was across the road from a show we had booked to see, and although we could have gone somewhere cheaper we thought the location made it a good choice. On booking in and opening the door to our room, it was a most pleasant surprise, not often does the room exceed the promotional photo. Truly Stunning. The room was very well appointed and spotlessly clean, no easy feat with the high ceilings, curtains and wood fittings. The only fault was that the TV could not swivel and so we couldn't watch it in bed. The breakfast the following morning had all you could want, set in a quaint intimate setting. All in all it was the icing on the cake to a memorable night out. Thankyou Denison Boutique, we will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a swivel TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeeka06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Don´t miss this experience in Rockhampton.

We have stayed there for one night during our roadtrip and it was amazing.
It is so great to find a place like this in Rockhampton.

The hotel is so nice, the rooms are absolutely clean and the staff is doing an excellent job.

If you have the chance to stay there even for just one night don´t miss it.
It´s like a trip in the past and absolutely worth to take.

Just on the other side of the hotel is a steakhouse and the food is really nice and one of the best steaks I have ever had.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very beautiful olde world charm. High quality restoration. Exactly how it looks in the pictures. Manager Matt is wonderful, charming, helpful, nothing too much trouble. Lovely breakfast. If you're local then this is a great place to go to spoil yourself. Easy walk to restaurants in town. Very special. We're lucky to have this quaint gem in Rocky.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWillow63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Certainly a beautiful restored hotel from the late 1800's. A tribute the owners for having the vision of returning it to its glory. They spared no expense in turning all the rooms into the period of the past. Only our clothes and suitcases seemed to be out of place.
The four posted bed was most comfortable, as was the couch for a relaxing evening, with a chilled spirit, or coffee.
Breakfast that was part of the cost was a beautiful way to start the day with friendly service, and unlimited chooses, all fresh.
Would recommend to anyone that wanted a place that took you back in time, and still a comfortable sleep....

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Visited Rockhampton to attend a conference.Chose this specific hotel because it was so different and stylish from the usual sterile looking hotels on offer.
Arrived early before check in time and the hotel staff got my room ready early so I did't have to wait in reception too long.
Room was very special with fantastic four poster bed and period looking furniture to match.Very comfortable and the breakfasts were great. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again. It is in an odd part of town but we did not have an issue with it and the trains ae not that frequent to disturb you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Highlights are the large proper King Bed mattress bed, 42" LCD TV, old antique plush lounge or chair to watch TV, hot breakfast included in the $ 185 rate, free Tim Tams in room, free internet, free parking, free bottles of water. The mini bar is good. Large room is made to appear larger by the massive ceilings. The only lowlight was the low hot water pressure and flow in the shower.
No restaurant here but across the road is The Great Western Hotel that does a great steak. Will be back here.

Room Tip: Get ground floor if you don't like stairs. Nice view from up top though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Empire Apartment Hotel
Empire Apartment Hotel
#2 of 35 in Rockhampton
253 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Criterion Hotel Motel
The Criterion Hotel Motel
#21 of 35 in Rockhampton
187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Cattle City Motor Inn
0.3 mi away
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
#15 of 35 in Rockhampton
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denison Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denison Boutique Hotel

Address: 233 Denison St, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rockhampton
Price Range: $93 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Denison Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Denison Boutique Hotel offers luxury accommodation that will take you back in time. Built in 1885 it has been beautifully brought back to life. Starting with the choice of being picked up from the station or airport in a 1938 Rolls Royce, then delivered to our establishment which is surrounded by roses and hedged gardens. Each room with their 4.8m high ceilings and period style furnishings will give you the relaxed feeling of being some where totally luxurious. The Denison Boutique Hotel provides for our guests the highest quality comforts, a king size four posted bed, two person spa, 42” plasma television and wireless internet, while complemented with a high standard of friendly service. All of these features and benefits, including a gourmet breakfast for each guest daily will complete your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Denison Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing