We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So fabulous. Nothing else like it anywhere near here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Denison Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Rockhampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So fabulous. Nothing else like it anywhere near here.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very beautiful olde world charm. High quality restoration. Exactly how it looks in the pictures. Manager Matt is wonderful, charming, helpful, nothing too much trouble. Lovely breakfast. If you're local then this is a great place to go to spoil yourself. Easy walk to restaurants in town. Very special. We're lucky to have this quaint gem in Rocky.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWillow63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    76
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
148
14
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Certainly a beautiful restored hotel from the late 1800's. A tribute the owners for having the vision of returning it to its glory. They spared no expense in turning all the rooms into the period of the past. Only our clothes and suitcases seemed to be out of place.
The four posted bed was most comfortable, as was the couch for a relaxing evening, with a chilled spirit, or coffee.
Breakfast that was part of the cost was a beautiful way to start the day with friendly service, and unlimited chooses, all fresh.
Would recommend to anyone that wanted a place that took you back in time, and still a comfortable sleep....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Visited Rockhampton to attend a conference.Chose this specific hotel because it was so different and stylish from the usual sterile looking hotels on offer.
Arrived early before check in time and the hotel staff got my room ready early so I did't have to wait in reception too long.
Room was very special with fantastic four poster bed and period looking furniture to match.Very comfortable and the breakfasts were great. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again. It is in an odd part of town but we did not have an issue with it and the trains ae not that frequent to disturb you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Highlights are the large proper King Bed mattress bed, 42" LCD TV, old antique plush lounge or chair to watch TV, hot breakfast included in the $ 185 rate, free Tim Tams in room, free internet, free parking, free bottles of water. The mini bar is good. Large room is made to appear larger by the massive ceilings. The only lowlight was the low hot water pressure and flow in the shower.
No restaurant here but across the road is The Great Western Hotel that does a great steak. Will be back here.

Room Tip: Get ground floor if you don't like stairs. Nice view from up top though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The room was every bit as luxurious looking as the photos on the website, although it did smell a little bit musty when we first opened the door. The king size bed was very comfortable. We didn't use the spa, only the shower, but the water was nice and hot, with quality soap, shampoo and conditioner provided. There was a nice selection of tea to choose from. Great to see that the bottled water was free of charge, as were the Tim Tams - a nice touch. We were a little disappointed that the bull riding wasn't on at the hotel across the road - it was one of the reasons we had booked the Denison. Unfortunately our stay coincided with a high profile country and Weston singer performing, so the bull riding was cancelled. Consequently we didn't eat there either as it was fully booked. There was a good Irish pub a short walk away, which had well priced meals so we ate there instead. Breakfast at the Denison was included in the price, with a good choice of hot and cold dishes. Whilst all of the rooms were non-smoking, people were smoking outside their rooms which wasn't particularly pleasant, especially for us as the person in the next room was quite a heavy smoker and was smoking outside our window and the smell seemed to waft into our room through the gaps round the door.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crafers, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Although we had seen the pictures, seeing it with your own two eyes is really believing. Huge everything, bed T.V. Spa. Very comfortable and surprisingly quiet, considering the train is so close. Can't say it bothered either of us during the night either. Great Hotel opposite make dining options easy, as long as you like steak! Which was by the way was great. Only small criticism, is that for a B.and B. it is run more like a motel with a very efficient but very non engaged person at reception. Not some-one I would go to ask for advice on things to see and do in the area,for example. Some-one with a more relaxed friendly nature, who can still be an efficient receptionist and cope with breakfast would be an asset indeed to this great place.

Room Tip: Probably not on the rail side, next to the train line and down stairs as quite a stairs to negotiate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you want a hotel with style and like what you see on the pictures (here or hotel's website), this is for you. What you see is what you get. Spacious and nice bedroom with spa, old style furniture with a poster bed. And even quiet although direcly onto the street and a freight rail line... but could not even hear a train while sleeping. Separate wc. TV and free wifi included.

Helpful staff. As we were planning to arrive after check-in time, we were sent the codes to get our room key. No issue.

Small lounge for breakfast (excellent buffet) which can get crowdy but if the weather is nice, get a table outside.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippononlosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Empire Apartment Hotel
Empire Apartment Hotel
#1 of 35 in Rockhampton
223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
#13 of 35 in Rockhampton
823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton
0.9 mi away
Best Western Cattle City Motor Inn
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Regent Rockhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denison Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denison Boutique Hotel

Property: Denison Boutique Hotel
Address: 233 Denison St, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rockhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Denison Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Denison Boutique Hotel offers luxury accommodation that will take you back in time. Built in 1885 it has been beautifully brought back to life. Starting with the choice of being picked up from the station or airport in a 1938 Rolls Royce, then delivered to our establishment which is surrounded by roses and hedged gardens. Each room with their 4.8m high ceilings and period style furnishings will give you the relaxed feeling of being some where totally luxurious. The Denison Boutique Hotel provides for our guests the highest quality comforts, a king size four posted bed, two person spa, 42” plasma television and wireless internet, while complemented with a high standard of friendly service. All of these features and benefits, including a gourmet breakfast for each guest daily will complete your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Denison Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing