We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ye Olde World Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Denison Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Rockhampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2012

What an absolutely gem of a hotel. Overnight end on our way up North and am so glad we did. The other reviews generally sum this place up - Class, sophistication and charm without the price tag. Similar priced accom would have provided a basic motel room on a main drag, I doubt these would have had a 2 person spa in the room with flower peals scattered for both effect and scent - a great way to unwind after a long drive

Room Tip: Take a room on the rear side of the building - gives a sound buffer should there be a band playing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazngav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison123, Front Office Manager at Denison Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank-You for choosing to stay with us at the Denison Boutique Hotel and Thank-You for your kind words. We strive to make the desirable in Accommodation Affordable. We are so glad you were able to experience this. We hope you enjoyed your Christmas Holidays, We look forward to welcoming you both back in the New Year.

Kind Regards,
Samantha Cook
Assistant Manager.
Denison Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 252 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

I've lost count of how many times I've stayed here. Matt and his staff are always accommodating, the rooms are decadent and have a turn of the century feel with modern conveniences. The Denison is well located with many quality dining options close by, one being the GW directly opposite.

Off street parking is available, the gardens are manicured perfect, the hotel enjoys a lovely breeze and to top all this off the rooms are always immaculately clean with the most comfortable beds outside my own.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanGret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison123, Front Office Manager at Denison Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Guest

We very much appreciate your kind words and Repeat Business. We strive to maintain the highest standards with our Gardening and Housekeeping, of which both departments achieve without fuss. Thank-You again for your great review. We hope you enjoyed your Christmas Holidays, We look forward to welcoming you both back in the New Year.

Kindest Regards
Samantha Cook
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed for four nights during October. The 1850's building has been magnificently maintained and is complimented with rooms that contain period furniture and a shower that has the best pressure ever. There was not one aspect that could be faulted, The staff were marvellous in every aspect.
The only recommendation would be to have your own transport. The hotel is a few blocks out of the main precinct and is too far to travel by foot.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BurningSloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison123, Front Office Manager at Denison Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank-You for your kind reviews, We appreciate your feedback. It is lovely to see our guests share the same Building Heritage and Period style appreciation as we do. We are happy to read we could not be faulted with both Customer Service and Accommodation.

We Thank-You for your recognition.

We hope you enjoyed your Christmas Holidays, We look forward to welcoming you both back in the New Year.

Kind Regards
Samantha Cook
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed our wedding night at the hotel as I have stayed previously for another wedding (as part of a bridal party). We decided to book an extra 2 nights accommodation so that we could escape the chaos at home - which was a wonderful decision. The rooms are lovely - beautifully decorated with quality furniture. The bed is wonderfully comfortable and very quiet which is surprising how close they are to the Great Western Hotel and railway. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful - we just wished it ran a little later (to say 10am) so we didnt have to get up quite so early but it wasnt a big problem. The manager is fantastic and provided great service for excellent value. I recommend to anyone visiting Rockhampton to stay in this Hotel - its history and value are exceptional!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is a beautiful colonial building and the rooms are fitted out to suit. That's all the good I can say. Rockhampton is a dump. The hotel is located in an unattractive area of this dump and has a freight line running down the street. Trains run throughout the night.

If you really, really, have to stay in Rockhamton I would recommend staying on one of the motels north of the town. They're probably cheaper (we paid 175 AUD) and you have several fast food chains nearby; we ate in the Heritage Hotel and it was pretty poor.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flatliner3544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed overnight en route to Townsville - would have to say I don't think you'd find such high quality for such value in Rockhampton. Absolutely gorgeous room, and exceptionally friendly and welcoming staff. Would gladly return if ever in the area again - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jossers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We loved our one night in this hotel which is an old Queensland Railways administration building. I'm not sure if the building was used for offices or stores or staff accommodation but it has been restored and now provides huge atmospheric rooms in a massive old two storey building.
Although the rooms have air conditioning the building was obviously built, before such luxuries were available, for the tropical Queensland climate. Rooms are large with high ceilings (18 feet high?) and wide verandahs to provide respite from the summer heat. A quality breakfast, included in the tariff, was taken in the dining room downstairs.
The fiurnishings are in keeping with the heritage nature and overall, as a lover of heritage buildings, it was a buzz to stay here.
Across the road is a sprawling old Queensland pub - The Great Western - which has a decent steakhouse and, if you walk through the bar to the back of the building you'll find a massive arena where rodeo bull riding happens on a regular basis.
Twice a month there are bull riding competitions and at other times there is practice - you won't believe oit until you see it!
Also, during daylight hours walk down to the river and then along the street facing the river to admire all the heritage buildings that are a reminder of Rocky's days as a major port. Finish with a drink at the Criterion Hotel ('the Cri') a lovely old hotel.

Room Tip: I'd opt for an upstairs room (no lift) - ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Empire Apartment Hotel
Empire Apartment Hotel
#1 of 35 in Rockhampton
250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Regent Rockhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
#12 of 35 in Rockhampton
898 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Q Motel Rockhampton
The Q Motel Rockhampton
#18 of 35 in Rockhampton
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denison Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denison Boutique Hotel

Address: 233 Denison St, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rockhampton
Price Range: $81 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Denison Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Denison Boutique Hotel offers luxury accommodation that will take you back in time. Built in 1885 it has been beautifully brought back to life. Starting with the choice of being picked up from the station or airport in a 1938 Rolls Royce, then delivered to our establishment which is surrounded by roses and hedged gardens. Each room with their 4.8m high ceilings and period style furnishings will give you the relaxed feeling of being some where totally luxurious. The Denison Boutique Hotel provides for our guests the highest quality comforts, a king size four posted bed, two person spa, 42” plasma television and wireless internet, while complemented with a high standard of friendly service. All of these features and benefits, including a gourmet breakfast for each guest daily will complete your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Denison Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing