We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Well equipped apartments and not far from airport or stadiums. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms well cleaned and maintained . Apparently the cafe/ restaurant attached is managed separately ... Very very long wait for breakfast

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank AustraliaChris09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeApartments, Manager at Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank-you for a lovely review of the Edge Apartment Hotel. Being located in the heart of the city it is extremely convenient for our guests to get around. Our wonderful Reception, Housekeeping and Maintenance teams ensure our guests have a comfortable stay and we hope to welcome you back to the Edge again soon. The Edge Bar and Restaurant is separately owned, however we have passed on your comments.

Kind Regards,
Grant Cassidy,
Managing Director
Edge Apartment Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 241 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

To be fair finding decent accomodation in Rockhampton wasn't easy and this is probably the best they have but the hotel represents itself as being a luxury hotel which we didn't feel.

The underground car park was very conveninent as we had a hire car, but the staff at check in and check out seemed indifferent and weren't very welcoming / warm / friendly.

When we went up the lifts and out onto our level it felt like we had entered a hospital, plain, corridors that felt a little suffocating and the lighting was very clinical both in the hallway and the room itself.

The apartment itself was spacious, relatively clean (though the kitchen sink had some stains in it I didn't like the look of) and the lounge and bedroom had a nice view over the Fitzroy River but it was not luxurious.

The bed unfortunately was one of the worst I have ever slept on, not only was it and the pillows most uncomfortable but the bed was not even a double in size, it felt like it was between a King Single and Double.

The prices at the restaurant of this hotel and the one a few doors down were ABSOLUTELY LUDICROUS esp when you consider that we were in the beef capital of the world and the steaks were $48 - wt? We ate at the Criterion Hotel just down the road, and found it was more reasonably priced though the food was average.

There was insufficient space in the shower to put toiletries like shampoo, toothbrush etc and no fan in the shower.

Adequate for a one night or business stay but I wouldn't want to be spending my holidays there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Markerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeApartments, Manager at Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent experience with us. We are committed to providing our guests excellent customer service and a quality product, so we are disappointed to read your comments regarding our staff, as this does not reflect our standard of service. In addition to your feedback, all rooms at the Edge Apartment Hotel are fitted with either a Queen or King bed with the option of having two singles if requested. As we do not claim to be a 'luxury' hotel, we apologise that we did not meet your expectations.

The Edge Restaurant and Bar is separately owned and we have forwarded your comments.

Kind Regards,
Grant Cassidy,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Me and my husband is staying 7 nights at The Edge recently between July-August in one bedroom apartment here for his business trip. So far, we have stayed for 5 nights. The room is very spacious, new and clean. The staff here are helpful, friendly, attentive and efficient. Housekeeping of the hotel is very good, it is on daily basis. The mini gym of this hotel overlook the river view and it is quite spacious and clean.

The only disadvantages about this hotel is the location of the room, internet and the carpark. I rated 'average' for sleep quality because my room was on first floor, and the airconds of other rooms are on top of my room, so during the first night, we find the noise of the airconds from other rooms on top of us pretty noisy and hence we hardly sleep.

The underground carpark space is not big enough and hardly accommodate big cars, especially 4WD. Besides, there is no free wireless internet provided like any other hotel. I am highly disappointed that The Edge, which claimed to be luxury 4-5 star class apartment/hotel does not provide free wireless internet to their customer. With such room rate, I think the hotel should really provide free wireless internet to us customer. I have to purchase prepaid internet provided by Jimojo, which I did not like it as I can only log on on one device at one time. It was such a hassle that I have to keep login and logout whenever I switch to my phone/laptop/iPad.

I hope the management will provide free internet facilities to their customer in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn_Veron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeApartments, Manager at Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank-you for providing your feedback on your recent stay at the Edge Apartment Hotel. It’s wonderful to read your positive comments regarding our diligent Reception and Housekeeping teams. We are, however, disappointed to know that your sleep quality was disrupted and we would of been more than happy assisting you move rooms. We understand car parking can be difficult during peak times and we do try our best to assist guests who have four wheel drives by reserving specific parking spaces. We are also currently investigating our options for free WiFi and we appreciate your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Grant Cassidy,
Managing Director
Edge Apartment Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in a one bedroom apartment at The Edge. They were quite heavily booked this weekend but my request for a river view apartment was met. The size of the apartment for a one bedroom was very generous and layout was good. Kitchen was well equipped and the bed was extremely comfortable. Our check-in was fast and the reception staff gave us a lovely greeting. Parking was a tad tight but still manageable with our 4 wheel drive car. Location was excellent with two restaurants downstairs and pubs and shops within easy walking distance. We definitely recommend The Edge and will stay here on our future visits to Rockhampton.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a river view. Very pleasant with the sun coming through the balcony in the...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeApartments, Manager at Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are so appreciative to be reading such a lovely review of our Hotel. We pride ourselves on providing a comfortable and memorable stay and we are happy to read we met your expectations and requests. We strive hard to meet guest requests, as we understand this is paramount in creating a great experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Edge in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Grant Cassidy
Managing Director
Edge Apartment Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed 5 nights at The Edge in June. We could not fault our accommodation and the staff were friendly and competent. The apartment is a generous size and the addition of a laundry was a great bonus as we were travelling further north. It is very close to a large shopping centre, handy for picking up a few provisions. We were concerned about availability of a car space as we were warned by a staff member that, if we could not find a park, we would need to park on the street. This did not happen and there were a few spare parking spaces each time we returned. If this was a problem, we were advised to let reception know and they would try and find a space for us. We found the apartment to be very neat and clean, with quality fixtures and fittings. I was pleased that it had a generous balcony/verandah, overlooking the Fitzroy River, great for enjoying breakfast or a quiet drink. We will certainly stay here next time we visit Rockhampton.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeApartments, Manager at Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay with us here at the Edge. On behalf of the entire team, we thank-you for your comments and we hope other travellers will find your review helpful. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to your return soon.

Kind Regards,
Grant Cassidy
Managing Director
Edge Apartment Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Having stayed just the one night, it was more than comfortable when your on the road - clean, tidy, very spacious. We had a 2 bedroom apartment and you could not fault the size. The fixtures and fittings were good, including washing/dryer if you need to wash a few items, comfortable nights sleeps and the views were nice - located on the river with good walking/running tracks.
We had diner in the restaurant which was vey good - $$ out of $$$ (high) but I think worth it!
A spacious enough gym, would've been nice to have a rack of free weights as there is ample space.
Overall, seems still new, hopefully it keeps this feel and doesn't show the signs of 'wear' too soon.
Location to the A1 is very good too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeApartments, Manager at Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very appreciative you recommend the Edge and had a pleasant stay with us. Our two bedroom apartments are a home away from home for our guests and we're glad to read you also had a comfortable stay. We also thank-you for your feedback regarding the gym equipment as we like to hear what additional services we can provide for our guests. Management, Housekeeping and Maintenance teams will continue to work extremely hard on providing clean and up-to-date rooms for our guests. Thank-you for your review.

Kind Regards,
Grant Cassidy
Managing Director
Edge Apartment Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

New and spacious apartments with kitchen and laundry. Only short coming was undercover/ underground parking with tight/small car spaces especially for 4wd vehicles and even tighter height limits if your 4wd has roof racks. Found a few other 4wd vehicles that could not park on lower levels of car park because of this. Hotel staff were considerate and offered some concession with alternative arrangements. Also seemed to be able to hear a lot of street noise despite screen and sliding doors.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeApartments, Manager at Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you reviewing your experience with us. We apologise if any inconvenience was caused with parking and we are happy to read that our staff were helpful in this situation. We are very mindful of what vehicles guests are travelling in and we do try to manage this as best we can to ensure we accommodate those who pre-book car parking. We also understand the importance of a comfortable and quiet stay for all of our guests and we will gladly accommodate you with a quiet room upon your next arrival.

Kind Regards,
Grant Cassidy
Managing Director
Edge Apartment Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Empire Apartment Hotel
Empire Apartment Hotel
#1 of 35 in Rockhampton
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
#13 of 35 in Rockhampton
845 reviews
0.2 mi away
CBD Luxury Accommodation
CBD Luxury Accommodation
#19 of 35 in Rockhampton
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Regent Rockhampton
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Stirling Rockhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton

Address: 102 Victoria Pde, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Price Range: $123 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edge is Rockhampton's premier 4 1/2 Star Executive Apartment Hotel specialist. The complex provides visitors to Rockhampton and the Capricorn Region, with a choice of modern hotel or fully self contained apartment accommodation. Nothing has been spared in the bold design, convenient riverfront CBD location or indeed the state-of-the-art facilities offered to guests. The Edge is the first 4 1/2 Green Star Apartment Hotel in the region and we are committed to providing an unequaled guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing