We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bathroom's An Obstacle Course”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

A four and a half star self serve hotel and restaurant is a novel concept but the biggest problem with I had was the bathroom. The configuration of a showerhead over a bath tucked away , concealed in the corner with a swinging pane of glass that needs to be negotiated before climbing in would preclude anyone with any kind of mobility issues from having a shower or getting into the bath. If you're elderly and maybe not as spritely as you once were, forget it. It is the worst designed shower/bath I have seen anywhere ever. It's so bad that when the hot water failed to materialise I was looking for the hidden camera.

As for the rest of the room, its all kind of weird. The stark white walls and lighting reminded me of the opening scenes of the movie Chopper. Harsh. All the furniture and TV are undersized for the room which although badly designed is quite spacious.

As for the service, call me old fashioned but on check-in 'here's your key, there's the driveway, you'll need to swipe the grey thing and here's a piece of paper telling you a bit more about us' seems a bit brief. I also think its generally accepted that if someone asks for a wine list there's a fair chance they might want to order something from it so maybe go back and aske them. It's not a substitute for a newspaper. And when someone asks for the bill it means they'd like to pay so maybe go back and collect it. The $41 steak was average.

I guess it's new. Other than that its difficult to recommend on any basis other than necessity.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank biffnshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeApartments, Manager at Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. As we pride ourselves on excellent guest service, we sincerely apologise that we did not meet your expectations during your stay and regret to hear of the inconvenience.

The Edge Apartment Hotel offers one and two bedroom apartments with or without baths and we are happy to accommodate guests’ preferences upon time of booking.

Your review has been addressed with staff members and management to ensure we consistently provide a pleasurable experience for all of our guests.

The Edge Restaurant & Bar is separately owned and we have forwarded your comments.

Kind regards,
Grant Cassidy
Managing Director
Edge Apartment Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 244 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We got stuck here in transit during the flooding. We were a party of 11 and had 3 two bedroom apartments. Each apartment was spacious, tastefully decorated and clean. The ability to cook and wash in our circumstances was greatly appreciated. We ended up checking in and out 3 times due to airport closures and each time the staff were helpful and friendly.

If you need more than one room try and get them on the same floor. It was a hassle being on 3 different floors as you need a security key to access each floor so we couldn't get to each other easily.

The gym and pool are both adequate.

We dined in the restaurant twice and both times the meals were great. The staff seemed very stretched here though, they could have used more staff but perhaps they were short staffed because of the amount of rain and flooding around.

Overall a great find for us and we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BubbleGirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeApartments, Manager at Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank-you for giving us such a wonderful and positive review in regards to your stay. We understand it was a difficult time for many of our guests who were isolated in Rockhampton due to January's weather events and we were more than happy to do our utmost to accommodate your family and others. While our normal routine is to provide families with the option of staying on the same level, unfortunately, we were restricted to doing so during this time due to the turn of events. We hope to welcome your family back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Grant Cassidy
Managing Director
Edge Apartment Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I liked this hotel, it was well kept, clean and staff very helpful and friendly. It is opposite the river and has lovely views. On arrival I asked for a room with a view of the river which I was given, however it was a long narrow room with a long narrow window making the room dark and depressing. I did have a view which was lovely and I moved the chair to enjoy the view better.

The room was clean and tidy and quiet. I would recommend and would go back.

A bit pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room and forgo the view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic_Traveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeApartments, Manager at Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank-you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We're happy to read you had a pleasent stay and we would certainly like to welcome you back in the future. For your next trip we recommend a One Bedroom Apartment which has an expansive balcony offering a range of views. Our spacious Apartments also feature a fully equipped kitchen, laundry and a separate living room.

Kind Regards,
Grant Cassidy
Managing Director
Edge Apartment Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The contemporary hotel picture belies this very disappointing hotel. The reception and public areas are bleak and concrete. Our room was disappointingly dull and smelt of the previous guests doubtful cooking. The bedroom was a blank white cell with a wall mounted air conditioner above the pillows on the bed. The bed was however clean. Our large lower floor terrace was a great place to sit and listen to everyone else’s external air conditioning and to look at the rooftop ducting. It feels very much like staying in a multi storey car park. Perhaps the higher rooms are better. After six weeks touring in Australia I’m afraid that the hotel restaurant also easily wins the prize for our worst meal in Australia. The poor quality food was served by utterly disinterested staff, seemingly incapable of describing the food on the menu. We left most of our main courses and gave up on any more food here. We made no complaints but interestingly at checkout no one asked if we enjoyed our stay. This seems to be reliably the case in hotels who already know the answer. This is not a hotel with an eye on detail or service. Regrettably I would certainly not recommend staying here.

Room Tip: If you must stay ask for a higher level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeApartments, Manager at Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank-you for taking the time to share your review as it assists us in improving our product and service. It is very concerning to read that we have failed to meet your expectations during your recent stay. As your comments are not reflective of our reputable standards, please be assured that your feedback has been shared with our Housekeeping and Reservations Teams and procedures have been reinforced.

Please note that The Edge Bar & Restaurant is separately owned and we have passed on your comments.

Kind Regards,
Grant Cassidy
Managing Director
Edge Apartment Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I started travelling to Rocky this year for work. I'd stayed in a different Hotel each time and found the only thing consistent about them was my dissapointment.
It was great to find this place, made even better by the super restaurant. I'll be a regular in 2013!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrhappi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeApartments, Manager at Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank-you for choosing to stay at The Edge, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back and trust you will experience continual guest satisfaction upon your return throughout the year at The Edge.

Kind Regards,
Grant Cassidy
Managing Director
Edge Apartment Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked this last minute while we were travelling through for the night. If we had been informed of the price difference we definately would have upgraded as we were in a normal hotel room with a tiny window with a view of the lovely big balcony room next door! Regardless it was clean, and quiet and a comfortable stay all round.

Room Tip: upgrade to balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozgirl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeApartments, Manager at Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing The Edge Apartment Hotel on TripAdvisor, it is wonderful to read you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of our Hotel Room. We apologise that you were not informed of the price difference to upgrade to a One Bedroom Apartment with a balcony upon time of booking. Your feedback is important to us and has been passed on to our Reservations Team so we can continue to ensure all guests are aware of the price difference.

We hope to welcome you back during your next stop over in Rockhampton.

Kind Regards,
Grant Cassidy
Managing Director
Edge Apartment Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Enquired if we could have a balcony room and staff were very obliging. Dinner was beautiful in the restaurant downstairs. Had a problem with a flat tyre on the Sunday and again staff were very helpful. We are looking forward to staying again in the next couple of weeks.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelleand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeApartments, Manager at Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Edge and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. it's great to read that we were able to accommodate your needs and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards,
Grant Cassidy
Managing Director
The Edge Apartment Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Empire Apartment Hotel
Empire Apartment Hotel
#2 of 35 in Rockhampton
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
#13 of 35 in Rockhampton
863 reviews
0.2 mi away
CBD Luxury Accommodation
CBD Luxury Accommodation
#21 of 35 in Rockhampton
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Regent Rockhampton
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Stirling Rockhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton

Address: 102 Victoria Pde, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Price Range: $122 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edge is Rockhampton's premier 4 1/2 Star Executive Apartment Hotel specialist. The complex provides visitors to Rockhampton and the Capricorn Region, with a choice of modern hotel or fully self contained apartment accommodation. Nothing has been spared in the bold design, convenient riverfront CBD location or indeed the state-of-the-art facilities offered to guests. The Edge is the first 4 1/2 Green Star Apartment Hotel in the region and we are committed to providing an unequaled guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing