We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, fabulous service”
Review of Motel 98

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 98
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay, fabulous service”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed twice for 2 nights over a 2 week period. Very comfortable rooms with king beds. Situated on the river it has a nice walking area along the river and some wonderful heritage buildings along the street. We found it quiet even though all rooms occupied. Manager/owner was so very helpful and allowed me to park a trailer there for 2 weeks while I was interstate.
Service was outstanding and very pleasant staff. Well recommended. Restaurant food also excellent.

Room Tip: Lower floor if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doogan O, Owner at Motel 98, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Rob B,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing Motel 98 and your stay with us.

We get a large amount of fantastic feedback on the beds, location and the new Steaklhouse restaurant. I will also pass on your feedback to all of our team and am glad to hear that you enjoyed our service as well as we strive to make everyones stay and home away from home experience.

If you are ever back in the Beef Capital it would be great to have you stay with us again.
Safe travels and best regards,

Doogan and all the 98 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    57
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
19
63
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Travelling from far south QLD through to Mackay, it was a relief to find such a welcoming stop on the edge of the CBD by the river. As a female it's always a little daunting to rock up at unknown destinations however, all my fears were dismissed. Each member of staff was very welcoming - nothing was too much trouble - and I was made at home from the minute I entered the reception (there's plenty of on-site, secure parking at the rear of the Motel). I received a wealth of information about Rockhampton and the surrounding area and was given recommendations on the various bars and restaurants in the town however, I chose to eat in the Motel restaurant and had a terrific steak which was perfectly cooked to my taste. I even had time to sit out front in the comfy outdoor seating area overlooking the river to enjoy a pre-dinner G&T! My room was very clean and comfortable with a superbly comfortable bed and overlooked the pretty, tropical gardens with a lovely sparkling pool - it was like a little oasis! Brekkie was great and again beautifully presented with great coffee!
If I'm in the area again I will definitely make Motel 98 my first choice of stay and will not hesitate to recommend it to fellow travellers.
Hearty thanks to the lovely proprietors of this establishment for my restful stay!

Room Tip: All overlook the lovely gardens and pool, with outside seating. Very peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doogan O, Owner at Motel 98, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Gilly G,

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay @ "98" and enjoyed our little oasis in the City on your trip through Rockhampton.

Also great to hear that you enjoyed your steak in the new on-site Steakhouse, it has certainly been very popular since it's launch. I will be letting our wonderful team know about your dining experince with us.

Safe travels and warm regards,

Doogan and all of the team @ "98"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Service was outstanding from the moment we checked in. This Motel is on the River and has a fantastic location for all of our needs around the CBD. The rooms were very clean and very comfotable King Size beds. I stay in a lot of Hotels and this one was the quietest I have ever stayed at, which is a nice change. We arrived in the restaurant late and the staff were very helpfull in organising us a table and we had a sensational round of Oysters and the Steak's was fantastic.

I highly recommend this Motel as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms upsairs have a balcony - try one of the steaks sensational. breakfast over looking the river i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doogan O, Owner at Motel 98, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Russell K,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback on your stay with us, we are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on all of your lovely feedback to all of our very hard working team who strive to make every guests stay with us as comfortable and enjoyable on all aspects as possible.

We look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the Beef capital soon.

Safe travels and warm regards,

Doogan and all of the team @ "98"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a lovely location with nice rooms and to die for beds. However its a shame that all this is overshadowed by really rude wait staff. We were all so excited to try the restaurant but when we arrived we were told it was all booked for the night (which was fine) but the way we were "greeted" and stared down as if filth was what really got to us. We left in good spirits despite our rather icy encounter with the wait staff. Maybe they were having a bad night? Fast forward to our return from another restaurant in town. We arrive back at our rooms and end up taking a phobe call from the gentleman at the restaurant (which was fine) and seeing as the night was only young i asked what time the bar closed as me and my friend would like a few drinks.. i was told half an hour which was no worries at all. We arrive down at the bar minutes later only to be "greeted" (more like stared down) by the waiter. When asked if they had a cocktail list we were informed they didn't do cocktails (all good) anyway we asked for a bottle of wine from the fridge and were told that we may aswell go out to another bar because they are closing soon which would have been fine had we not been told and stared down like we were animals and made to feel like we didnt belong down there. Get this, we went next door for drinks for at least 1.5 hours and on our return saw people still drinking in your bar!!!!! I know we were lovey to the wait staff 100% of the time so to be recieved so atrociously really upset us. Being made to feel like you cant be somewhere or that you cant afford something is a really disgusting feeling and was exactly how we were made to feel from the body language, tone of voice and the LOOKS that we got from the man and woman we delt with. We were planning on splashing out and spending alot of money at the bar/restaurant and you lost it all because you're wait staff have a serious attitude problem! Tell them not to judge a book by its cover... God forbid they treat the wrong person like a lesser being and they snap!
That being said the housekeeper we met was a total gem and so was the man from reception who gave us a bucket of ice. But still, never coming back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessMKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doogan O, Owner at Motel 98, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear JessMKT,

Thank you for your wonderful scores and review of the Motel and accommodation experience during your stay with us. We have a lot of very great positive feedback about our Rooms and especially the beds, cleanliness and location - so thank you.

In regards to the restaurant experience, I am very sorry to hear that you had a poor service experience from one of our Waiters and want to assure you that this will be dealt with immediately and rectified as we strive for great service and a friendly team from all of our casual staff included. If you are ever back in Rockhampton we would certainly like the opportunity to make this experience up to you.

Safe travels and warm regards,

Doogan and all the team @ '98'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are well set up and big king size beds are amazing.. Everything you need is in walking distance..
Rooms are well set out. And the staff are nice and friendly.
Can not fault the motel at all a great job done by all involved.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrispyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doogan O, Owner at Motel 98, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

So great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and also enjoyed the River precinct location. We receive a large amount of fantastic feedback about our premier location on the River and how our guests really enjoy being able to walk along the river or enjoy many of the great restaurants (including our Steakhouse) and pubs in the area and also the convenience of a Coles centre right behind the Hotel.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Safe travels and warm regards,

Doogan and all of the team at '98'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed recently for a conference. This is an older style motel but has been refurbished very nicely, the king size bed was very comfortable as we're the pillows, the room was also clean with a separate desk and dining table. The breakfast was tasty, well cooked and good value. Staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rural_traveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doogan O, Owner at Motel 98, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review '98' and we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a large number of regular corporate travellers who really enjoy all of our recent renovations and also the fantastic beds we have for a great night's sleep.

Our staff strive to make every guests stay, a home away from home experience and I will be passing on your lovely comments to them.

Thanks again for the great review and we hope to see you back in the beef capital soon.

Safe travels and warm regards,
Doogan and all of the team @ '98'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Motel 98 is on the Fitzroy river with a lovely boardwalk out the front. Wonderful Heritage buildings nearby. Shopping Mall in next street and lots eating places nearby. Rooms are good size, updated bathroom, rooms also very clean. Staff very nice and helpful. Lovely little outdoor areas with lots garden and birds. Would definately stay again. Mature age couple Adelaide

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebbsy104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doogan O, Owner at Motel 98, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Ebbsy104,

Thank you for taking the time to review '98' and highlight our fantastic location right on the Fitzroy River. The River precinct in Rockhampton is certainly the premier accommodation area and very popular destination for travellers passing through Rockhampton who want to stay away from the main highway and also be in the prime central CBD location. As you mentioned the River boardwalk is a great walking/running track and also plenty of great restaurants and dining destinations as well.

I am also glad to hear you really enjoyed our recent fully renovated rooms and we would love to have you stay with us again if you are ever back in the Beef Capital.

Safe travels and warm regards,

Doogan and all the team @ '98'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Empire Apartment Hotel
Empire Apartment Hotel
#1 of 35 in Rockhampton
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
#13 of 35 in Rockhampton
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Stirling Rockhampton
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Regent Rockhampton
0.6 mi away
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 98? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 98

Property: Motel 98
Address: 98 Victoria Pde, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel 98 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Rockhampton's Riverfront precinct on the banks of the beautiful Fitzroy River, Motel 98 offers an oasis with tropical gardens, resort style pool and leading Rockhampton Restaurant Steakhouse 98. All executive king suites have been redecorated inlcuding pillowtop beds for a luxurious sleep. From our location we have a Coles & Target Shopping centre only 100 metre's away and then 3.4K's to the Rockhampton Airport and less than 40 minutes drive from stunning beaches and islands of the Capricorn Coast. A few minutes walk or a short drive will have you at major shopping centres or in the CBD retail precinct ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 98 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing