We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Outstanding Motel,Quiet,Friendly,Clean and Comfortable"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Rockhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns,Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Outstanding Motel,Quiet,Friendly,Clean and Comfortable"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I recently drove from Cairns to Brisbane to visit my Daughter and Grand children. Deciding on Rockhampton as my overnight stay point , I did my research on several Motels in the area and chose the Capricorn Motel. I could not have been happier with my decision ! As with most cities, motels are generally located within close proximity to main roads or highways for top exposure.....the downside can then be the intrusion of continual traffic noise to disrupt ones sleep.
Well, the Capricorn Motel is only 50-60 metres off the highway, but i enjoyed very pleasant stays there both on the way South, and 6 days later on my return.I was extremely impressed with the quality and cleanliness of the rooms-First Class ! Unfortunately, on the nights I stayed I arrived late,so I am unable to comment on the quality of the food served there however, I have no doubt it would be of a very high standard.The complimentary continental breakfast was appreciated,and allowed for an early departure.Michael and Jodie should be immensely proud of their establishment, and I wish them continued success with the " Capricorn Motel"
I highly recommend this as THE place to stay whilst in Rocky! Thank You for you Hospitality !
Jeff C, from Cairns

Room Tip: All rooms are Ground Level, and have Individual areas outside the room to sit and relax in a garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chic1660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, owner / operator at Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi Jeff, Thanks for the great review.Its a shame we never got to meet. We really appreciate that you have taken the time to write it. We take pride in our motel and are pleased when guests can see that. Thanks again and hopefully we will meet next time you pass by this way:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    35
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
36
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
183 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Staff very friendly, they even moved us before we arrived, because they wanted us to have a quiet room after our long drive. The room was rather basic, but very clean and tidy. The pool is a nice place to cool down.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CR111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, owner/operator at Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thankyou for your review, we appreciate the time you have taken to write it.

Kind regards Jodie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Having travelled extensively for the last 10 + years, I've experienced all levels of accommodation, from 3 to 5 star. Sometimes I've been left bewildered by services provided at them all, on both ends of the scale. I'll admit to never being 1 to read reviews before deciding on staying anywhere, but for some reason I did on this occasion, because it'd been quite some time since I'd visited Rocky. All the reviews I read proved to be extremely accurate. Michael & Jodie delivered 1st class service, a very friendly, relaxed atmosphere & nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent, very well proportioned & the room spotless........geez.......I felt like I was at home !It's easy to own a hotel/motel, but to do it properly takes passion & pride. Thanks guys, I'm so glad I stayed & will definitely be back without a doubt ! Gerard from Maytronics Australia

Room Tip: ALL the rooms are good !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, Owner /Operator at Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thanks Gerard,

Thanks for the great review, we hope to have you back again on your next travels this ways. A nice guy who's a pleasure to have here.:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitsunday Islands, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on my travels to Brisbane and return. I had given them four stars on a previous visit but to be honest it is better than that. The rooms are impeccably clean, the people operating the motel very friendly and will go out of their way to ensure your stay is comfortable. I highly recommend this facility as the place to stay in Rockhamton. I was actually on my way to and from Brisbane and whilst away had a fabulous trip first class on Cathay Pacific to Hong Kong and then to China to Mission Hills where I played golf for four days. How do give a place in Rockhampton after completing a journey like that - well for value for money this motel and the operators are as good as I have experienced anywhere in the world.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, Owner / operator at Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi Ross, thankyou once again for your kind and generous review. It way more than we would expect from anyone. Please let us know if we ever start to "drop the ball". :)

Jodie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We arrived after a long journey from Brisbane, enroute Airlie beach and Jodie the Manageress was very welcoming, helpful and was very much aware of and in tune with weary travellers. Our rooms were sorted out very quickly and we settled in for the night - but we were hungry! Hungry and the restaurant had just closed - not a problem for her and she promptly organised some food for us at very short notice - the sort of attention to customers that should happen everywhere. Thank you! The rooms were motel standard, clean and comfortable and the outlook on one side was to the pool which was clean and cleaned daily. There is not much you can say about a motel but in this instance everything was well presented, clean and the enthusiasm and kindness of the staff made the short stay all the more worthwhile. If we are ever travelling in that area again then we will stay there. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, Owner /Operator at Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thanks Ian for your review. I hope the rest of your holiday went as well or better. It's definately no problem to help out when we can. It also helps when the people you are serving are as nice as your family.

Jodie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This motel is more than I expected. The rooms are bright and roomy, clean and have everything you could need for a comfortable night. Lovely gardens surround the rooms. We had a very nice meal in the restaurant and loved the Turkish garlic bread and tender steaks. Friendly management and staff more than great value for money.

Room Tip: Don't think you can go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenJ008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, Owner/operator at Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thankyou Karen, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. Our aim is to provide clean comfortable rooms, great service and great food. thanks for ticking all those boxes in your review :)

Jodie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Just had our second stay at the Capricorn Motel in under a year. Both stays were excellent. Good sized and well appointed room, clean, great service on arrival from the owners, parking right outside the room and a pool. The restaurant offers great home made food and is licensed. All in all a great little motel on the highway. You even get a complimentary continental brekkie in the price. Thanks for a good sleep and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BradandEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, owner/operator at Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thankyou for your review, we appreciate the time you have taken to write it. We will also look forward to having you here again.

Cheers

Jodie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
4.1 mi away
Empire Apartment Hotel
Empire Apartment Hotel
#1 of 37 in Rockhampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
#9 of 37 in Rockhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
4.7 mi away
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Regent Rockhampton
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Stirling Rockhampton
1.9 mi away
Korte's Resort
Korte's Resort
#2 of 37 in Rockhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre

Property: Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre
Address: 703-751 Yaamba Road | Parkhurst, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia (Formerly Dreamtime Lodge Motel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Rockhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capricorn Motel and Conference centre is a relaxing resort style motel all on ground level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing