We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended - the best we've come across in QLD!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

It was such a relief, to firstly find very friendly service - and secondly and more importantly, to find our room clean - spotlessly, spotlessly clean. So nice, thank you!! Rooms are fresh, fully equipt and everything has a place - really exceptional quality for a Motel. We had such an enjoyable overnight stay, we could have easily stayed two, and loved swims in the beautifully cared for swimming pool. We ended up eating at the restaurant, again friendly service - and really fresh and delicious meals. Although just off the main road, north of Rocky, there is no issue with noise. It was peacefully quiet. I would recommend asking for a room that opens out to the pool, it was wonderful. Great for families. Also, it was really refreshing to see some quality new-age art-work in the rooms, aboriginal paintings, and for once bedding that looked unique, fresh and a big step away from that 80's style Queensland "resort wear"...!! We stayed at the Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre on our journey back home again, and we will any other time we pass through Rockhampton! Thank You.

Room Tip: Ask if it's possible to have a room leading out to swimming pool.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 119 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great clean and modern rooms on highway across from yeppoon turn off. Pool is only a few metres from rooms back verandah. They have a restaurant and let you buy takeaway beer and wine. Rooms come with basic breakfast of bread, spreads and cereal. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agran143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had booked this motel as per trip advisor. We were stopping over on the drive back from Brisbane to Townsville. We arrived about 6:30pm after a long day. On arrival we discovered that I had booked a family room for the following night. There were no family rooms available. The gentleman at reception was very helpful and put us into 2 adjoining rooms for a small extra charge. The rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable. We ate at their bistro that night and it was lovely. Great, friendly service, yummy meals and the best steaks we had had all week. In the morning we had complementary toast, cereal, juice, etc which was a nice start to the day. Would definitely stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bec71_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We struck it lucky picking this place sight unseen. Clean, comfy rooms and at a decent price. Free continental brekky as well.
This will be our choice if ever stopping in Rocky again.
The motel is on the northern outskirts and adjacent to the Bruce Highway. Even so, traffic noise was barely noticeable. Shopping centres are within a short driving distance.
Management and staff were very helpful.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

On my return trip to Hervey Bay from the Whitsundays stayed at the Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre. Motel is well positioned on the north side of Rockhampton. On my way to Hervey Bay was provided a room close to reception and restaurant which was very quiet, excellent nights sleep and was able to get away early next day well refreshed after a very adequate continental breakfast which is supplied. Free wi- fi was a real surprise.

On my return trip was given a room which was too far away from reception to get the free wi-fi and outdoor setting here consisted of one chair.

Not withstanding these two nominal issues I believe that this motel provides very good service, facilities and value.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to reception for wi-fi
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stumbled upon this motel, looking for a reasonable place to stay. Little did we know that we were going to find more than we bargained for. The rooms were clean and spacious. The owners were friendly. I would recommend this motel to anyone. Great value. Thanks for the free continental breakfast! It really is the little personal touches that count!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our work group of 30 recently held a conference at the Capricorn Motel and were very impressed with the facilities and, particularly, the operators. The Capricorn has a nice relaxed ambiance; set back off the highway in a bushland setting, well laid out with a great area outdoor/pool area for eating and relaxing in. The service provided was excellent, not intrusive but extremely proficient.

When we surveyed our own staff after the conference, they gave it a unanimous 10 out 10 so we have no hesitation in recommending the Capricorn Motel if you are looking for somewhere to hold a conference or to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, Owner at Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thanks Terry. We really aprreciate your review :) we also had a great time over that weekend as well. Looking forward to having all you back again next year. Cheers Jodie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
4.7 mi away
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
#13 of 35 in Rockhampton
840 reviews
4.1 mi away
Empire Apartment Hotel
Empire Apartment Hotel
#1 of 35 in Rockhampton
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton
5.5 mi away
Best Western Cattle City Motor Inn
5.4 mi away
The Q Motel Rockhampton
The Q Motel Rockhampton
#21 of 35 in Rockhampton
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre

Address: 703-751 Yaamba Road | Parkhurst, Rockhampton, Queensland 4702, Australia (Formerly Dreamtime Lodge Motel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Price Range: $91 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capricorn Motel and Conference centre is a relaxing resort style motel all on ground level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing