We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Great Keppel Island, Australia
1 review
“What a great place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our work group of 30 recently held a conference at the Capricorn Motel and were very impressed with the facilities and, particularly, the operators. The Capricorn has a nice relaxed ambiance; set back off the highway in a bushland setting, well laid out with a great area outdoor/pool area for eating and relaxing in. The service provided was excellent, not intrusive but extremely proficient.

When we surveyed our own staff after the conference, they gave it a unanimous 10 out 10 so we have no hesitation in recommending the Capricorn Motel if you are looking for somewhere to hold a conference or to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, Owner at Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks Terry. We really aprreciate your review :) we also had a great time over that weekend as well. Looking forward to having all you back again next year. Cheers Jodie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    35
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
36
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We phoned this motel whilst driving from Airlie Beach & the receptionist was happy to accommodate our late arrival. Two members of staff we dealt with were friendly, polite and helpful. Our room was spacious, clean & bright. The only thing I'd suggest improving would be the size of bath towel. We'd book again & recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetcheeks001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

I stay here when I am in Rocky for work. The rooms are clean and tidy and the owners are very helpful. The food is excellent! Great value!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Peter Jodie and Michael could not have been more helpful. Local knowledge even though they have only been there since October. The whole place has had a makeover and it truly is an oasis.
Stayed here on our way to Cairns and then for 2 nights on our return.

Thank you for a memorable stay.

Jenny & Mick

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the cultural centre grounds if you are lucky you may spot a kangaroo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, Owner at Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thankyou very much Jenny & Mick. It was also a pleasure to have such lovely people stop here. I hope the rest of your holiday is just as memorable :) Travel Safely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

I was working and staying at Dreamtime for 6 weeks. As others have indicted already the ownership has changed and the mcdonnald family is now running it. They have a lot of experience and are very friendly. They will try to make you stay as comfortable as they can. The motel is located on the edge of Rockhampton so it's nice and quiet. You can wakeup to the sound of birds. The food in the restaurant is excellent, I have tried everything.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik Jan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambour, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Very welcoming place to stay. Facilities were comfortable and clean. Food was excellend. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

This motel changed ownership in October 2011, and from the previous reviews it seems to have improved a great deal. We liked it so much that we booked it on our return journey as well. The new owners are a young couple. They were friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and tidy. The motel itself was only built in 2000 according to a sign out the front, and is quite modern. It is set around a landscaped pool, and next to an aboriginal cultural center (which we didn’t visit but is supposed to be good).

It says in a notice to guests that there are some maintenance issues which the new owners are trying to address. The only problem we saw was a missing knob and a cracked basin in our first room. Outside, the pool is probably due for resurfacing.

For a family of 5 this was ideal as we had two interconnecting units, each room having a queen and single. (We could have carried one of the single mattresses through to the other room but didn't bother). On the return visit one of the single beds was missing so we got a roll-away which was actually better as all the kids could go in one room. There are no cooking facilities.

The motel is located on the northern edge of Rockhampton, with pretty much wilderness for 100km after that (don’t head north with inadequate fuel, as there is not much until you get to Marlborough). There are a variety of food outlets and liquor stores about a minute back south along the highway. There was no audible traffic noise on the first visit, I could hear the rumble of some of the big trucks on the second visit but no one else did and it was not enough to disturb.

The rooms open out onto a very nice garden and pool setting. Free WiFi is provided. There is no smoking in rooms but you can outside, and cigarette smoke drifting over from neighbors can be unpleasant. The doors are keyed from the outside; personally I would have liked a safety chain or bolt as well. On our first visit on a Sunday night the restaurant was closed, but open the second time. The restaurant interior is like a pub, with a large TV featuring sports, basic furnishings, there is a bar and the meals are what I would call pub style meals, but at restaurant prices. The meals were very good. I had avoided the seafood because it was frozen, however the prawns that came with my steak were fine.
One particularly nice touch is that the rooms come with breakfast which is given to you the night before. This is bread you can toast, with jam etc, and there are drinks in the fridge which are yours. The bread was fresh the first night, not so fresh the second so we were restricted to making toast.

As we had no interest in going into Rockhampton CBD this was an ideal place to stay and we would certainly stop here again.

Room Tip: Families can get interconnecting rooms and roll-aways are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterSandgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
4.1 mi away
Empire Apartment Hotel
Empire Apartment Hotel
#1 of 35 in Rockhampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
4.7 mi away
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
#10 of 35 in Rockhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Regent Rockhampton
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Stirling Rockhampton
1.9 mi away
Korte's Resort
Korte's Resort
#2 of 35 in Rockhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre

Property: Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre
Address: 703-751 Yaamba Road | Parkhurst, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia (Formerly Dreamtime Lodge Motel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capricorn Motel and Conference centre is a relaxing resort style motel all on ground level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing