We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Korte's Resort(Rockhampton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
True Blue Motor Inn(Rockhampton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambassador Motel(Rockhampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Quest Rockhampton(Rockhampton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albert Court Motel(Rockhampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveler rating
77
42
9
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
42
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfast providedtropical gardenpool areacomfortable nightcovered parkinggreat place to staystayed longerclean roomsovernight staysingle bedwould definitely stay here againroom servicestaff were friendlyroad noisefree wifithe main roadcereal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 131 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I stay here when I am in Rocky for work. The rooms are clean and tidy and the owners are very helpful. The food is excellent! Great value!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Peter Jodie and Michael could not have been more helpful. Local knowledge even though they have only been there since October. The whole place has had a makeover and it truly is an oasis.
Stayed here on our way to Cairns and then for 2 nights on our return.

Thank you for a memorable stay.

Jenny & Mick

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the cultural centre grounds if you are lucky you may spot a kangaroo.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, Owner at Capricorn Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Thankyou very much Jenny & Mick. It was also a pleasure to have such lovely people stop here. I hope the rest of your holiday is just as memorable :) Travel Safely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I was working and staying at Dreamtime for 6 weeks. As others have indicted already the ownership has changed and the mcdonnald family is now running it. They have a lot of experience and are very friendly. They will try to make you stay as comfortable as they can. The motel is located on the edge of Rockhampton so it's nice and quiet. You can wakeup to the sound of birds. The food in the restaurant is excellent, I have tried everything.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik Jan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Very welcoming place to stay. Facilities were comfortable and clean. Food was excellend. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This motel changed ownership in October 2011, and from the previous reviews it seems to have improved a great deal. We liked it so much that we booked it on our return journey as well. The new owners are a young couple. They were friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and tidy. The motel itself was only built in 2000 according to a sign out the front, and is quite modern. It is set around a landscaped pool, and next to an aboriginal cultural center (which we didn’t visit but is supposed to be good).

It says in a notice to guests that there are some maintenance issues which the new owners are trying to address. The only problem we saw was a missing knob and a cracked basin in our first room. Outside, the pool is probably due for resurfacing.

For a family of 5 this was ideal as we had two interconnecting units, each room having a queen and single. (We could have carried one of the single mattresses through to the other room but didn't bother). On the return visit one of the single beds was missing so we got a roll-away which was actually better as all the kids could go in one room. There are no cooking facilities.

The motel is located on the northern edge of Rockhampton, with pretty much wilderness for 100km after that (don’t head north with inadequate fuel, as there is not much until you get to Marlborough). There are a variety of food outlets and liquor stores about a minute back south along the highway. There was no audible traffic noise on the first visit, I could hear the rumble of some of the big trucks on the second visit but no one else did and it was not enough to disturb.

The rooms open out onto a very nice garden and pool setting. Free WiFi is provided. There is no smoking in rooms but you can outside, and cigarette smoke drifting over from neighbors can be unpleasant. The doors are keyed from the outside; personally I would have liked a safety chain or bolt as well. On our first visit on a Sunday night the restaurant was closed, but open the second time. The restaurant interior is like a pub, with a large TV featuring sports, basic furnishings, there is a bar and the meals are what I would call pub style meals, but at restaurant prices. The meals were very good. I had avoided the seafood because it was frozen, however the prawns that came with my steak were fine.
One particularly nice touch is that the rooms come with breakfast which is given to you the night before. This is bread you can toast, with jam etc, and there are drinks in the fridge which are yours. The bread was fresh the first night, not so fresh the second so we were restricted to making toast.

As we had no interest in going into Rockhampton CBD this was an ideal place to stay and we would certainly stop here again.

Room Tip: Families can get interconnecting rooms and roll-aways are available
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterSandgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews