We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Athelstane is Simply Excellent”
Review of Athelstane House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockhampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Athelstane House
Ranked #6 of 14 Rockhampton B&B and Inns
Caledonia, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Athelstane is Simply Excellent”
Reviewed July 15, 2009

The Athelstane is a perfect blend of atmosphere, ambiance, and character with amenties, location, and service.

Stan & Marion are thoughtful and gracious hosts. The rooms are immaculate and I actually took pictures of the breakfast plate.

Whether on a business trip or leisure vacation, I give my highest recommendation to the Athelstane.

Thanks Stan & Marion.

Joel D. Burgess
Principal
Ernest Lorraine Associates, LLC
USA

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacific30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
27
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2009

Athelstane House is an extremely attractive period home in a quiet residential area of Rockhampton which is also within easy reach of the town centre and the Bruce Highway. Stan and Marion were warm and welcoming hosts. Our rooms were spacious, comfortable and newly-decorated to a high standard. We particularly enjoyed an afternoon cup of tea and the delicious breakfast on the veranda which offered wonderful views of Mount Archer across the valley. In recent years, we have stayed in a good number of B&Bs in the US, Canada and Australia. Athelstane House stands out with the best.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, NSW
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2009

Athelstane House is a beautiful bed & breakfast - Marion and Stan really have thought of everything! The room and ensuite are beautifully decorated..such inspiration! I certainly agree with the previous reviews in all detail and rather repeating them I will add some more points.
How lovely it was to come home after an evening out and sit in the lounge room sipping on port in fine crystal, admiring the charming decor!
Sitting in the comfortable, white cane chairs on the verandah enjoying a delicious breakfast and looking towards Mt Archer was certainly a highlight! Fresh fruit, perfect eggs and wonderful coffee, combined with the chatter and nearby presence of colourful red & green lorikeets and we were in heaven!!
We very much enjoyed chatting with Marion and Stan - Thank you both!
Ann and Steve - Wagga Wagga NSW

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaylorWagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2008

The Australian Jazz musician, Vince Jones, thanks a great audience by saying 'you made a Tuesday feel like a Saturday night'.

Marion and Stan, the delightful owners of Athelstane House make Rockhampton feel like Paris. Not that there is anything wrong with Rocky. It is just that Athelstane House is a Bed and Breakfast of unsurpassed excellence and fine detail in the old, gracious part of the city.

Rocky can be hot and humid, but from the time you set eyes on the ice-blue and white timber Queenslander and step onto the generous shaded balcony, you feel cool and relaxed. Marion is charm and style personified. Husband, Stan, combines an outgoing personality with concern for your comfort.

The rooms are generously sized with air-conditioning, doors onto the verandah, a generous dressing rooom/walk-in-robe and spacious bathroom. The bed is very comfortable and the linens are of the highest quality.

All toiletries are high quality and touches like foot balm and shoe polish are generous and thoughtful. Each room has a bar-fridge with fresh milk, and there is plunger coffee with quality biscuits to nibble on. Glasses and china provided are beautifully in keeping with the decor.

A wonderful fruit plate and cooked breakfast awaits in the morning and can be served on the verandah or in the charming dining room with its elegant furnishings and decoration.

Athelstane House has real style and heart. The owners have real flair and have created a house and garden oasis in a fascinating part of Rockhampton which is close to the airport and near the charming Botanic Gardens.

Stan and Marion are delightful hosts who are rightly proud of their beautiful home and generous hospitality. Each night there felt like a Saturday to us!

  • Liked — Chance to stay in a genuine Queenslander with delightful hosts and quality decor
  • Disliked — That we didn't stay for longer!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biographytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2008

This was a fabulous start for our trip inland to Longreach and then on to Port Douglas. The bedroom and ensuite have been refurbished brilliantly with no expense spared. Marion and Stan are perfect hosts and the (included) breakfast was super. Easy to get to from the airport and just a short drive into the city.


Ron and Peggy Johnson
Melbourne, Australia

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Rawiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2008

What an absolute gem.Built in 1885, this gracious queensland styled home with its ornamental woodwork and distinctive turret offers luxury accomodation and views overlooking the city and Mount Archer.Stan and Marion are the delightful owners of this bed and breakfast facility. They make every effort to ensure your stay is memorable.Marions gourmet breakfasts on the verandah are to die for and make for a great start to the day.An ideal location for travel or business.So good we returned after a yachting adventure in the Whitsunday Islands,and will continue to stop on further holidays up north.Congratulations on your first class b&b.Stan and Marion.I hope many other travellers get to enjoy the experience.

Garry and Dianne Dukeson

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Disliked — cannot find any fault.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank coastgazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
1.4 mi away
Empire Apartment Hotel
Empire Apartment Hotel
#1 of 35 in Rockhampton
223 reviews
1.4 mi away
Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton
1.1 mi away
Denison Boutique Hotel
Denison Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Rockhampton
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Coffee House Apartment Motel
Coffee House Apartment Motel
#3 of 35 in Rockhampton
193 reviews
7.1 mi away
Korte's Resort
Korte's Resort
#2 of 35 in Rockhampton
198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Cattle City Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athelstane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athelstane House

Property: Athelstane House
Address: 165 Caroline St, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rockhampton
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing