We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a B&B”
Review of Athelstane House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockhampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Athelstane House
Ranked #6 of 14 Rockhampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in the Athelstane House during our three-week trip along the east coast of Australia and were completely blown away by the lovely interior and the friendly owners. This is way more than "just" a B&B, it was a trip back in time in Rockhampton. The complete house and all furniture was "frozen in time" and it feels 100 years ago (without having to miss any of the modern luxuries). The breakfast was served outside on the veranda, perfect. We can highly recommend it!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank guenners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 42 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed ovenight 15/08/12 excellent, can not fault the friendlness of the owners ...beautiful room everything a 5 star resort has to offer ....beautiful cooked breakfast on the deck outside your room with the morning paper sitting in the sunlight .....just stunning ..........will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

A beautiful house, lovely and attentive hosts, gorgeous breakfasts... a big comfortable bed, a wonderfully appointed bathroom, everything fresh and clean... we loved our stay and will absolutely be coming back again sometime... perhaps in summer so we can use the pool!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We were just passing through Rockhampton on our honeymoon roadtrip, and didn't think much of it when we booked at this B&B, but were so pleased with the whole experience. Stan & Marion were really friendly and gracious hosts, the house was in excellent condition and beautifully put together. Every tiniest detail was very considerate, like range of bedding in our room with spare pillows, toiletries including extra touches like body lotion in the bathroom, down to a jug of fresh water in the fridge and magazines at our bedside tables. The house is gorgeously decorated in a charming country style, all the fittings and homewares were of high quality, from the bed to the shower to the plates & utensils. We had a fantastic homecooked breakfast as well - gourmet fruit plate with yoghurt, to poached eggs with toast, bacon & roasted tomato. We couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kopibren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stan and Marion were excellent and helpful hosts, and they have lovingly restored this outstanding heritage accommodation with beautiful furnishings and artwork, while including all modern conveniences and delicious breakfast. Our room had French doors onto the wrap around verandah, with lovely views over the garden and across the city, and was very quiet. The house is up on the hillside near the Botanic Gardens, with many other beautiful houses and gardens around.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Where do I start? Stan and Marion were an absolute pleasure and took great care of us. The room was nicely decorated and extremely comfortable. The shower in the bathroom is probably the best shower I have ever had in my life, incredible. We only stayed in Rockhampton as a stopover but decided to head out for a bite and a few drinks, so instead of grabbing a taxi into town Stan insisted that he drove us. Nice touch. The next morning we were treated a beautifully cooked breakfast, one of the best we had on our honeymoon. A lovely place to stay and I cannot recommend it highly enough. If you are in Rockhamton, then stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I found myself stranded in Rockhampton after a car accident and came to stay at Athelstane House until I could travel home. I was so lucky to find such a wonderfully serene and peaceful location. The delicious and beautifully presented breakfast is served on the gracious 'Queenslander' verandah, this is a glorious time of the day so try and take the time to enjoy this. My room was beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. I could use the lounge and kitchen and had everything I needed, nothing was missing. The house like their guests is well cared for, with attention to the smallest detail. Stan and Marion went out of their way to help me from the moment I arrived late at their door to the day I left.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara-Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
7.1 mi away
Korte's Resort
Korte's Resort
#2 of 35 in Rockhampton
215 reviews
1.4 mi away
Empire Apartment Hotel
Empire Apartment Hotel
#1 of 35 in Rockhampton
248 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Q Motel Rockhampton
The Q Motel Rockhampton
#16 of 35 in Rockhampton
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton
1.2 mi away
Coffee House Apartment Motel
Coffee House Apartment Motel
#3 of 35 in Rockhampton
205 reviews
0.8 mi away
Welcome Home Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athelstane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athelstane House

Address: 165 Caroline St, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rockhampton
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing