We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Palms Hotel Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sun Palms Hotel Motel
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Rockhampton
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A really great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Booked one night here on the strength of earlier reviews, and am so glad we did. Whilst the motel itself obviously isn't new, the rooms are modern, clean and very spacious. On the main road in to Rockhampton, but is set back, and we weren't troubled by any noise at all. The staff were helpful & friendly. Breakfast, which was included in the price, was awesome and set us up for the day. And the icing on the cake was that they provided real milk for the room fridge instead of those awful, revolting, fiddly little tubs of ultra high treated milk that most places provide, and which will never allow for a decent cup of tea & coffee. If you need a comfortable, friendly place to stay, I don't think you'd regret booking in here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thebrolga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
6
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stanmore, Qld 4514
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

My husband and I always stay at Sun Palms when in Rockhampton The service is friendly, the rooms clean and the food excellent and plentiful. All the rooms we've stayed in have walk in robes. large bathrooms and large bedrooms. We have stayed in both family 2 bedroom suites as well as double rooms and really have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irene1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comet, Qld
Level Contributor
261 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

We always stay here when we go to Rocky. The rooms have a great layout and are better than basic. Undercover parking outside your room with decent sized parking bays. The breakfast is included and is always plentiful and good with something for everyone. Can't fault it for the price. Not luxury but great value for money.

Room Tip: Call ahead to book - especially during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Goannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

Good place to stay in Rockhampton if you don't need to be within walking distance to anything. Clean and large room with a very good restaurant but the bed was a bit hard. The buffet breakfast which is included in the price makes the $120 good value. However, don't choose the Mixed Grill for dinner, if you want to get stuck into the breakfast before you depart.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ianpurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

Found this motel by chance when planning our trip. But what a find. We had been staying at some nice but basic places for the previous 4 nights and we were all delighted to find ourselves at such a great motel. My daughters got their own room in our 2 bedroom unit, which we hadn't expected - especially given the reasonable room rate. The bathroom was great with a brilliant shower and spa bath. The fridge was a bonus and there was plenty of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits in the room. Staff in both the breakfast room and reception were lovely and so helpful. Breakfast was very good.
If you need to stop on your journey between Cairns and Brisdane then I doubt if you with find a better motel!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pommy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

Stayed here just the one night. It was how I imagine a motel in America. You drive in and park undercover outside your room. The room was very large but it was dark due to there being only a window at the front and the parking cover. Clean but in need of an update.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daveatalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

The price, cleanliness, restaurant meals, complimentary hot & cold buffet breakfast, staff, personal touches in the rooms, all brilliant!! I can't say enough good about this motel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuttoQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Sundowner Rockhampton
Sundowner Rockhampton
#26 of 37 in Rockhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
#9 of 37 in Rockhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Centrepoint Motor Inn
Centrepoint Motor Inn
#25 of 37 in Rockhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rocky Resort Motor Inn
Rocky Resort Motor Inn
#15 of 37 in Rockhampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rocky Gardens Motor Inn
Rocky Gardens Motor Inn
#19 of 37 in Rockhampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Palms Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Palms Hotel Motel

Property: Sun Palms Hotel Motel
Address: 160 Gladstone Road, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Rockhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Palms Hotel Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sun Palms Hotel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Palms Hotel Rockhampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing