We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value as always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Palms Hotel Motel
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We always stay here when we go to Rocky. The rooms have a great layout and are better than basic. Undercover parking outside your room with decent sized parking bays. The breakfast is included and is always plentiful and good with something for everyone. Can't fault it for the price. Not luxury but great value for money.

Room Tip: Call ahead to book - especially during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Goannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2010

Good place to stay in Rockhampton if you don't need to be within walking distance to anything. Clean and large room with a very good restaurant but the bed was a bit hard. The buffet breakfast which is included in the price makes the $120 good value. However, don't choose the Mixed Grill for dinner, if you want to get stuck into the breakfast before you depart.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ianpurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Found this motel by chance when planning our trip. But what a find. We had been staying at some nice but basic places for the previous 4 nights and we were all delighted to find ourselves at such a great motel. My daughters got their own room in our 2 bedroom unit, which we hadn't expected - especially given the reasonable room rate. The bathroom was great with a brilliant shower and spa bath. The fridge was a bonus and there was plenty of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits in the room. Staff in both the breakfast room and reception were lovely and so helpful. Breakfast was very good.
If you need to stop on your journey between Cairns and Brisdane then I doubt if you with find a better motel!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TripMember082520171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Stayed here just the one night. It was how I imagine a motel in America. You drive in and park undercover outside your room. The room was very large but it was dark due to there being only a window at the front and the parking cover. Clean but in need of an update.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daveatalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

The price, cleanliness, restaurant meals, complimentary hot & cold buffet breakfast, staff, personal touches in the rooms, all brilliant!! I can't say enough good about this motel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuttoQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

My Husband and I stayed at Sun Palms Hotel Motel for one night in July, during a sales trip from Cairns to Brisbane. We had a room at the back of the complex and found it to be very quiet. Our room was one of the largest Motel rooms we stayed in during our trip. It was very comfortable with a separate bedroom, dressing room, and bathroom. The bathroom had a large bath with a shower over it. I felt the bathroom could have done with a bit of an extra clean but overall it was spacious and well appointed. The Buffet Breakfast made an excellent start to the day with a variety of hot and cold dishes in a buffet style. We even received a complementary newspaper. The best value accommodation in our whole trip. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenni50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

The Sun Palms Hotel, set back from busy Bruce Hwy and shielded from traffic noise by a two story building/bottle shop out front offers 43 quiet, spotless, and spacious accommodations up two two bedroom size with a shaded carport in front of each room. We stayed in room #17 in the very quiet rear of the property. The room was of the size of a one bedroom apartment and came with queen and single beds, iron/ironing board, fridge, microwave oven, breakfast supplies along with tea/ coffee maker, toaster, TV and VCR ( free movies available in the reception), A/C with remote control, ceiling fan, clock radio, a seating group with two chairs and table, and a separate dressing room. The large bath with spa tub had quality Grohe fixtures, a shower, hair dryer, and the usual wall mounted soap/ shampoo dispenser near sink and tub. Breakfast, included in the room rate, is served buffet style in the on-site restaurant, which also provides room service. A pool with spa and BBQ and a guest laundry round out this very nice property where one can stay comfortably for longer than a one night stopover.

3  Thank silvergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Cattle City Motor Inn
0.9 mi away
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton
0.2 mi away
The Q Motel Rockhampton
The Q Motel Rockhampton
#18 of 35 in Rockhampton
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Golden Fountain Motel
#14 of 18 in Rockhampton
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rocky Resort Motor Inn
Rocky Resort Motor Inn
#17 of 35 in Rockhampton
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Gateway Motor Inn
Tropical Gateway Motor Inn
#4 of 14 in Rockhampton
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Palms Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Palms Hotel Motel

Address: 160 Gladstone Rd, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Price Range: $95 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Palms Hotel Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for the Business Traveller. Our spacious rooms each feature a Queen size bed and are fully air conditioned. We also have free Wi-fi and a desk so you can comfortably finish those last minute emails. Our Rooms are well equipped with a small dining setting, microwave, toaster, tea & coffee making facilities as well as a small bar fridge. All rooms are ground level with allocated undercover parking at your door. Prefer a proper meal? We welcome you to our fully licensed a-la-carte restaurant for breakfast or dinner. Guests are offered a hot buffet breakfast for just $10. Our extensive dinner menu is also available to guests as room service. The SunPalms facilities include a spacious outdoor pool and BBQ area plus a licensed Bar and Gaming Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Palms Hotel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Palms Hotel Rockhampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing