We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Very Special Holiday Home”
other travelers have booked this property
Relax in a Bahama Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in a Bahama Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Relax in a Bahama Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Port Douglas, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tuesdayma...
Port Douglas, Australia
1 review
“A Very Special Holiday Home”
Reviewed January 17, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I was given the task of find an appropriate holiday home for my extended family. My younger brother was marrying his true love with just 10 of us to witness this special occasion. Well… I couldn’t have found better! The Bahama house is amazing. I so enjoyed watching each family member walk through the enormous front door into this beautiful home (Imagine kids in a candy store).
By the end of our stay we renamed the house… The Memory House. We came together for a very special occasion and the house was icing on the wedding cake! Grant and Sharon have thought of everything. Beautiful furnishings, outdoor kitchen with wine fridge, plenty of outdoor seating, stunning tropical garden, poolside cabana, luxury bathrooms... the list goes on and on. The pantry had all the condiments we required, plenty of books to read and little things like throw rugs, Bluetooth speaker, candles and even gorgeous beach bags to use amongst other things.
The house is very spacious but intimate at the same time. Every bedroom is equally beautiful with super comfy beds. For once my siblings and I didn’t argue over who was getting which room (BTW we are all over 40)!
Each morning we woke and strolled over to the beach for a walk. Every night we cooked in the fabulous kitchen and ate outdoors by the pool. We hardly ventured out; instead spending our days at the house enjoying the pool. In fact, we cancelled wedding pre-dinner drinks at the restaurant and chose to go back to the house and toast the Bride and Groom by the pool.
Thank you Sharon and Grant for a perfect holiday home. We departed with wonderful memories packed away in our bags and a promise to each other we will return to the Bahama House again for another family holiday.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2017
How wonderful for your family, a very special intimate wedding in a tropical paradise! We love the look on peoples faces when they come through the enormous front door, sounds like it WOWED your family also! We are so glad you all loved the luxurious furniture and appointments and that you found the 'perfect holiday home' for your family. It is also so lovely to be able to walk along the beach to start each day and then lounge around the pool and cocktail cabana :)
Evening drinks outside are pretty special with the garden / rainforest backdrop and pool lights under a starry sky.
We are absolutely thrilled that our house exceeded your expectations and would love for you all to come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shabinaka...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Tropical Paradise Perfection”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The minute we stepped into the Bahama House we knew it was going to be an incredible holiday! You can really see the love and care that has been put into making it a wonderful experience and it's absolutely perfect for a family holiday. The attention to detail put into decorating and the quality fittings made it easy and comfortable to enjoy the house. We had a great time staying in, having a BBQ and swimming in the pool and drinking cocktails. The location was great, a quick drive into town and activities nearby. By the end of the trip, we loved it so much that we didn't want to leave the beautiful house. From start to finish, Sharon was a wonderful host, answering questions and making sure the whole experience was fabulous. We can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2016
Shabina we are over the moon that you loved The Bahama House, it really is quite special and we are thrilled you had a great family holiday. Glad you loved the BBQ and cocktail area also, it is devine with the landscaped backdrop and pool we think! You are welcome to stay anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline0...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tropical Paradise for a girls long weekend!”
Reviewed May 29, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What a wonderful time we had at this tropical Caribbean home! Four of us stayed and we each had a room with an ensuite, which was perfect! This home embellishes the true Tommy Bahama theme starting from the grand entrance to each room being decorated in tropical style. Well thought out kitchen with quality appliances, it would be very easy to stay in and cook if you want too. A great entertaining area outside with undercover table and chairs and a BBQ/wine fridge. The pool was beautiful to swim in and the cocktail pavillian was enjoyed each night with a pre dinner champas. It was a 2 minute walk to the beach, which was gorgeous to walk along if you feel like stroll into PD! Wonderful stay and thoroughly recommended!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2016
Thank you Caroline - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your girls long weekend! We are also delighted to hear that the decor was pleasing and you enjoyed the Cocktail Pavilion - we hope that you can visit us again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Heaven in the Bahamas!”
Reviewed May 29, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What an amazing, splendid, holiday retreat. Every aspect of the home was just like a 6 star resort with beautiful furnishings, tasteful decorating and a tranquil outdoor area for relaxing. How lovely it was to walk in through this entry foyer and see the interior unfold before you. surprises around every corner and wide open spaces to delight the senses. What an impeccable and beautifully clean retreat. I give my highest recommendation to this stunning holiday experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful interior
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2016
Thanks Heidi E - it sounds like you loved The Bahama House! We took alot of care in choosing each design / piece of furniture, so we are always over the moon when our guests Love the house! Our housekeeping team are brilliant, we will be sure to pass on your feedback! We hope that you can return one day in the future :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne...
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb Accommodation”
Reviewed April 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Bahama House is a superb new home that makes for a luxurious & relaxing holiday. The owners have clearly gone to great effort with the interior design, as the furniture and fittings are all of high standard. The kitchen is a dream. It even made me feel like cooking whilst on holiday! It is stocked well with cutlery & crockery and has plenty of space & storage.
The house was spotless upon arrival and we were greeted by a friendly & informative lady who showed us around the house and gave us tips for where to eat and go whilst in Port Douglas. Easter school holidays are a fantastic time to visit Port Douglas as the weather is perfect.
The pool is a good size, was crystal clean and enjoyed by children and adults. The garden and design of the house offer excellent privacy from surrounding neighbours too.
It is only a few minutes walk to the beach and if you like a good walk, is just under 5km into town (which we did every morning for our coffee). The shuttle bus can run you home if you don't fancy the walk back. You would be better to have a car when staying in this location for ease of shopping, sightseeing and getting into town.
We loved the Bahama House and it easily housed our two families without us feeling on top of one another. We would without hesitation stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, Modern, Spacious, Private
Liked least: Locks on toilet doors a little tricky
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2016
We are delighted that your family enjoyed the luxuries of The Bahama House! It is wonderful to hear that our kitchen, pool, gardens and furnishings helped make your holiday memorable. Having the beach so close by is such a bonus as is the handy shuttle bus if required. Thank you also for your lovely comments about Michelle who greets all of our guests and passes on so much local information. We hope that you and your family can visit again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing