We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holidays for 2 in Port Douglas”

Seabean Tapas Bar Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 118 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Seabean's tapas bar is open from 3pm come along and sample some of our authentic Spanish dishes, along with a beer, wine and of course carafes of sangria located on our own relaxed corner of Wharf and Warner street where you can sit back and enjoy stunning views ,watch the sun go down behind the mountains as the boats sail home whilst sharing delicious plates of sumptuous tapas , With the help of our friendly staff, enjoy a Spanish tapas banquet of your choice or choose from our mains selection featuring paella, fish, duck, steak and more And embrace the continental way of sharing the occasion with friends and loved ones Still the home of our famous coconut creme brulee, served in the 1/2 nut. We are vegetarian and gluten free friendly.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Holidays for 2 in Port Douglas”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a great restaurant with excellent food at most reasonable prices. We chose the various Tapas and they were absolutely fantastic. Don't miss the Mushrooms and Calamari. The service was excellent and we wanted to go back again. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jexthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    267
    70
    28
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Truly surprised at the delicious food and great service at his place. They were very nice to families with kids. Friendly and very attentive. Mussels, Calamari and Chorizo were particularly good. Sure, we had better tapas in Spain or even Melbourne but it's one of the better places in PD. Would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PhotoMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Casual Dining with lovely food.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A good range of Tapas complimented by friendly and happy staff who obviously enjoy working there. Always a good sign! Another of the very good casual dining places in Port Douglas.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria AUST
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good value and great service”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Back to Seabean after 2 years. No reservation after a moments hesitation. No problem. Started, of course, with the mango daiquiris so we could concentrate on the menu. My wife was not that hungry so she ordered 3 tapas dishes and I ordered the mussels. The order came out promptly with a smiling and very attentive waiter. She was great. But suffice to say my wife couldn't finish her meal. The stand out was the simply grilled calamari sprinkled with sumac. The texture and flavor of this dish added to its simplicity. I had to help my wife in finishing this. But I had enough on my plate - a huge pile of mussels and then the seafood/ tomato broth at the end. I put up the white flag only 3/4s of the way into my own meal., probably shouldn't have tried some of the other tapas on my wife's plate namely the spicy chorizo and pumpkin arancini. The deserts looked good but we were full and grateful for a long walk home.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Farmersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not Tapas as I know it”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Went on friday night. Pleased to get table for five as hadnt booked. Ended up inside- disappointed but lucky as it hosed down and outside diners got wet.
tapas menu uninspired really standard starters rather than complete dishes with flair and originality as we have come to expect from this type of restaurant in Barcelona or Wellington. We chose from blackboard but really no better although chilli shrimps (called prawns) with mayonnaise (callled aioli) were quite good. Salmon was tasty but accompaniment boring and croutons not crisp (made in morning?). The italian style bread was excellent. We had mackerel main with satisfactory fish, good vegetable sauce but tomato foam was not foamy. The paella was bland maybe playing safe? Where was the intense saffron flavour, the juxtaposition of exciting flavours? Baked alaska was well made and presented but again predictable. The cocoanut brulee had a v good crust and sauce flavour but let down by flavourless and leathery cocoanut flesh. Presentation was v good. Excellent coffee was a local roast and Hoar Oak tasmanian pinot noir 2010 also very good. Service lacked the personal touch . So much better to have just one waiter/waitress. Price for 5 was $340 including one bottle of wine ine cicktail and three soft drinks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thorstenvilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seabean Tapas Bar Restaurant also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Seabean Tapas Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing