We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant day!”

Sailaway Reef and Island Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.42*
and up
Sunset Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas
More Info
$205.81*
and up
Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas
More Info
$205.81*
and up
Afternoon Low Isles Snorkeling and Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sailaway Local and Visitors favorite, the original and authentic Low Isles and Sunset experiences since 1985. Sailaway sisters IV & V luxury 'Lagoon' Catamarans sailed from France offer luxury reef and island day trips at 8.30am and 1.00pm, only 1 hour sail to the protected Coral Cay Great Barrier Reef Island. Relax on the white sandy beaches, snorkel over the magnificent coral gardens in the blue lagoon and swim with turtles in their natural habitat. Take a trip on the glass bottom boat, enjoy a superb buffet lunch, before pure sailing back to Port Douglas. NEW Afternoon Cruise; Sail, island, snorkel and sunset combined, adults only. Absolutely the most relaxing experience on Great Barrier Reef 3 departures daily to suit you perfectly. Go Sailaway! SAILAWAY #1 SUNSET SAILING "MUST DO' $60 New Hot/Cold Canapes menu, complementary drink and fully licensed bar. Highly recommended for Adults, amazing value and ambiance
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Brilliant day!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Visiting the Great Barrier Reef with Sailaway is a must.
They cater for small groups of people (max 33) and arrive at the island much earlier than other mass organised trips which means you see loads of the marine life and coral before it gets too busy. We really enjoyed our day on Sailaway - everything was well organised, the crew were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,023
    134
    34
    13
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful tour of the lower isle reefs”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

A wonderful day, picked up from our hotel and taken to the boat where there was coffee/ tea and some morning tea, after a brief safety run through, we headed out, about an hours sail to the lower isles. On the boat they sorted us out with snorkels and flippers and when we arrived on the island we were taken on a lovely snorkel tour around different spots and the guides showed us everything from sea cucumbers to little reef sharks.
After about 2 hours on the island we headed back to the boat for a lovely lunch in the sun and then an afternoon snorkel off the back of the boat. For those who were over snorkelling or not comfortable In the deeper water, there was the option to hang out on board or take a glass bottomed boat tour.
All in all a fantastic day with friendly,knowledgable, and encouraging staff.
Would highly recommend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Buttercup1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Day”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very friendly female staff who knew what they were doing with safety features, reef knowledge, catering, dealing with little kids, sighting whales, dolphins etc. Time on the island was great though it would have been better if we had our footwear with us! There was little flexibility with the glass bottom boat.....if you didn't go on the first and ONLY trip then you missed out! On this particular day it was the only sighting of turtles so it would have been nice if another trip was on offer. We couldn't understand why the skipper was so inflexible about this considering hours spent on the island. We also had to pay for extras like wetsuits, drinks, sunscreen.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunset Sail”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great way to watch the sunset while sipping away on a glass of wine or bubbly. The crew are fantastic and look after your every need while on board, serve you light canapés, and are great to have a joke with. Make sure you bring a camera for this experience as the views are simply incredible. Not to mention, the actual boat Sailaway use is top of the line luxury!
Would definitely recommend for a cheap trip to fill in a few hours in the day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifden, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The crew was friendly, the swimming and snorkeling was beautiful and we had a great trip. There was a crew of 3 and only 30 people. We landed on the island long before the huge ships so had the island to ourselves. The reef is amazing. An added bonus, the food was great for lunch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sailaway Reef and Island Tours also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Sailaway Reef and Island Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing