We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Sunset Sail”

Sailaway Reef and Island Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.37*
and up
Sunset Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sailaway Local and Visitors favorite, the original and authentic Low Isles and Sunset experiences since 1985. Sailaway sisters IV & V luxury 'Lagoon' Catamarans sailed from France offer luxury reef and island day trips at 8.30am and 1.00pm, only 1 hour sail to the protected Coral Cay Great Barrier Reef Island. Relax on the white sandy beaches, snorkel over the magnificent coral gardens in the blue lagoon and swim with turtles in their natural habitat. Take a trip on the glass bottom boat, enjoy a superb buffet lunch, before pure sailing back to Port Douglas. NEW Afternoon Cruise; Sail, island, snorkel and sunset combined, adults only. Absolutely the most relaxing experience on Great Barrier Reef 3 departures daily to suit you perfectly. Go Sailaway! SAILAWAY #1 SUNSET SAILING "MUST DO' $60 New Hot/Cold Canapes menu, complementary drink and fully licensed bar. Highly recommended for Adults, amazing value and ambiance
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunset Sail”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great way to watch the sunset while sipping away on a glass of wine or bubbly. The crew are fantastic and look after your every need while on board, serve you light canapés, and are great to have a joke with. Make sure you bring a camera for this experience as the views are simply incredible. Not to mention, the actual boat Sailaway use is top of the line luxury!
Would definitely recommend for a cheap trip to fill in a few hours in the day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    984
    130
    32
    13
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clifden, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The crew was friendly, the swimming and snorkeling was beautiful and we had a great trip. There was a crew of 3 and only 30 people. We landed on the island long before the huge ships so had the island to ourselves. The reef is amazing. An added bonus, the food was great for lunch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful day”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our day on sailaway. Weather was amazing! and thus we were able to enjoy the whole trip on the sundeck of the boat, and had clear visibility on the reef. Staff were very friendly with an excellent knowledge of the reef. It was great just to be in a smaller group compared to the bigger companies where u are just an extra dollar. And the food was excellent. One of the best tours we went on. Thank you

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kaikai003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beware of Cancellation”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I booked a trip with Sailaway weeks in advance of our once in a lifetime holiday to Northern Queensland. Sadly, a couple of days before our trip, it was cancelled by Sailaway due to unforeseen maintenance requirements. We managed to rearrange other pre-booked trips so we could go with Sailaway later in the week. Again, this trip was also cancelled due to continued maintenance issues. I appreciate these are unforeseen circumstances, but we missed out on what we were hoping was going to be a magical experience. The staff were accommodating and as helpful as they could be but it was extremely disappointing not to be able to go to the Low Isles with Sailaway.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ALS45_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve E, Owner at Sailaway Reef and Island Tours, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for you review, as mentioned on your voicemail we are truly sorry this unexpected maintenance issue came up, unfortunately the 2 days that effected you most. We did undertake a speedy and costly repair, caused beyond our control and the first disruption of its kind in many years of operating. We did organise alternative experiences with other vessels that you were not satisfied with. Please rest assured this occurrence can happen anytime to any operator and we could not have done any more to resolve this inconvenience to your holiday in any less time. We appreciate your commitment to the Sailaway experience being a highlight of your trip to Tropical North Queensland and we hope have chance to deliver sometime in the future. Rest assured you will not find a more reliable, committed and quality marine tour operator than Sailaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent day”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Luckily weather had improved for our relaxing day out, nice boat. The brochure photo's are of one or two people on the isle But you are sharing it with 4 or more other tour operators so expect 100 or more around the island. Not that it seems crowded, sailaway was the first out there, you get two hours on the isle/ snorkelling. Then after lunch back on the boat there is time for about 50 minutes snorkelling on a couple bommies 200mtrs away from the boats anchorage. The sails were put up for show, as winds were light.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank svEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sailaway Reef and Island Tours also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Sailaway Reef and Island Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing