We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Gorgeous house and very well looked after.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frangipani Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Douglas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frangipani Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Port Douglas B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous house and very well looked after.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We arrived with our three children to stay for two nights. The house is really lovely with a fabulous pool dug into rocks. Leona and Bob were very kind and helpful giving us a great restaurant recommendation where we ate on both nights. Leona even posted my son's cuddly parrot back to us in England. They couldn't have been nicer and while it's not the cheapest place to stay, I don't think you'll find anywhere better.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tweakle53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
55
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband and I just spent three nights at Leona and Bob's wonderful B&B and I can't say enough great compliments about it. The villa is lovely, where the indoors meets the outdoors. Bob and Leona couldn't do enough for us, from loads of laundry to backing the car out of the driveway. Leona became our own personal travel agent, finding a snorkel only boat trip to the Great Barrier Reef for us, as well as a rainforest expedition, making dinner reservations, and even recommendations for a good Italian restaurant in Melbourne, their former home town. Breakfast included a cornucopia of tropical fruits, and we were introduced to dragon fruit and passion tree fruit, and the apricot jam made by the 75 year old lady in town. This is one of the most comfortable, loveliest B&B's we've ever stayed in and I can recommend it highly.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Amgsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

That was our reaction when we arrived, located in a quite cul-de-sac(court) with a few minutes walk through a park to 4 Mile Beach.Both Leona&Bob where superb hosts and very accommodating.The room was excellent and clean with a lovely balcony overlooking garden and pool,sleeping with the balcony doors wide open an waking up to the sound of the dawn chorus "magic",walk on the beach return to a superb buffet style breakfast with home baked bread and jams.Would truly recommend Frangipani.Many thanks.

Room Tip: choice of double or twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labrador1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent two weeks here in June and it was a wonderful experience! Bob and Leona are the perfect (unobtrusive) hosts and the standard of accommodation is high, better than most of the hotels in town (which could do with a renovation). Two minutes walk to a most glorious beach even by Oz standards. The transport is excellent as mentioned by other reviewers but it is also as "cheap as chips" to rent a small hire car which will provide very easy access to the Daintree Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands (we went twice.) We loved Port Douglas and Frangipani and we would definitely make a return visit. Other guests were also delightful!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenbuchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here in mid-November to be in position to witness the total eclipse of the sun on the 14th. The location for that activity was perfect - a short walk down to the beach for unobstructed views of the eastern sky. But seeing as how there aren't be too many upcoming total eclipses, how would this place rate otherwise? Well, you couldn't ask for more congenial hosts or lovely lodgings. They provide a wonderful breakfast of locally baked bread and a range of fresh tropical fruits plus all the other standard fare of cereal, yoghurt, juice, coffee, etc. The first floor (second floor to Americans) rooms are superb each with a balcony overlooking the tropical gardens surrounding the pool. They have large doors that can be closed for privacy during the night but with the temperatures being just about perfect while we were there, we slept with them open so we could enjoy the breezes and the sounds of the all the birds when they woke up in the early morning hours (I suppose some might find this a negative - so close the doors then). Our hosts also provided excellent advice on restaurants and activities in the area and beyond. This would be a great place to stay while in Port Douglas doing whatever or as a base from which to explore some of north Queensland.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed with Leona and Bob for 4 nights after a recommendation from a colleague Had a great stay here, Bob and Leona had good local knowledge and suggested good places to see/eat/tours. The room was spotless, clean and tidy. It was so refreshing to sleep with the doors wide open and listen to the wildlife. The B&B is within 2 minutes of the beach :) Getting into town was easy with the local bus service, bikes provided and Bob!

Breakfast each morning was wonderful with a great option and the pool was invigorating after the humidity!

Would definitely stay here again and will recommend to others.

Thank you to Bob and Leona for welcoming us into your home :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denijenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoutleeuw, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Frangipani B&B is a beautifull villa run by the nicest hosts, Leona and Bob. It feels more like staying at a friend's place than in a hotel. Socialising with the hosts and other guest (only one other at the time) was very pleasant. The room is just beautifull and very comfortable, although not extremely spacious. One little downside was that our bathroom was always flooded after a shower. It is located out of the centre, but there are plenty of options to easily get around. We enjoyed bycicling on the 4mile beach to the centre.We got lots of recommendations on restaurants and trips, and each recommendation was an absolute success. The breakfast was every time a very good start of the day. I would recommend this place to anyone and would always come back if Port Douglas was not that far from home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrik9S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
0.2 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#17 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#2 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Bed & Breakfast

Property: Frangipani Bed & Breakfast
Address: Villa 3, 13 Andrews Close, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Douglas
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive B&B Accommodation you only dream about. An intimate couples retreat, honeymooners delight, or a place for anyone to simply getaway, relax, and unwind surrounded by the beauty of nature. 3 Stunning rooms to choose from.This stunningly luxurious two-storey villa will truly embrace, and make you feel like you never want to leave. Perfumed Frangipani trees purposely shade the entrance and welcome you as you arrive at Frangipani Bed and Breakfast. Downstairs the home is open plan living with bi-fold doors that open out onto the large outdoor entertaining area, and your own secluded heated swimming pool. Huge palm trees and tropical ferns add to the ambience and relaxation of your very own tropical setting. The top floor has 3 main bedrooms all with their own private balcony, bi-fold floor to ceiling glass doors, uninterrupted views to the inviting pool and tropical gardens below. Each room contains its own private en-suite, with a king size bed which can be converted into two large single beds. As well as having its own bar fridge with tea and coffee making facilities provided, and brand new LCD flat screen TVs. Frangipani B&B has direct access (no crossing roads) to the pristine sands of Four Mile Beach and the crystal waters of the Coral Sea only a short 100 metre walk. The perfect place to watch the sunrise over the horizon, or ride the bicycles (provided) along the sand. A Tropical Continental Breakfast is served downstairs as a buffet each morning and is all-inclusive.There is direct access to your room via an alternate outside route, so you can come and go as you please at all hours without having to go through the main house if you don't want to. Features of this B&B also include bicycles that you can use to ride along the beach, and a new undercover table tennis area. Features also include: Barbecue, Air Conditioning, All Linen Supplied, Refrigerator, TV, Clothes Dryer, Iron, Washing Machine, Hairdryer, Transport arranged, Bath and Pool towels, Brochures, Heated Swimming Pool, and Tour Bookings.Check out a recent TV review on YouTube, search: Frangipani Bed and Breakfast ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing