We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special ...”

Nautilus Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 117 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $79
Cuisines: Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Elegant outdoor dining in the tropical rainforest of North Queensland. We specialise in romantic dinners for 2 to group functions and weddings.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Special ...”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

There is little I can add to the accolades showered upon this icon. The menu comprises all the usual precious fare from modern Australian nouvelle cuisine, but the real treat is the extraordinary environment and meticulous service. Nautilus is an experience. Don't look at the number on the RHS of the menu ... just enjoy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BravoCharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,067
    332
    155
    81
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Magic atmoshphere. Only problem was they rushed us.”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Excellent food. Magic atmosphere. A lit path up through the trees to an outdoor deck. Only trouble was they rushed us. We booked for an early time - 6.30pm, planning a long leisurely evening, and were surprised to find, on a Tuesday night, the restaurant was already filling rapidly when we arrived. We opted for cocktails at the table rather than the bar, which is usually not a problem. But they took our orders for cocktails, appetizers and mains all at once. We had only just begun our cocktails when the appetizers arrived, and equally rapidly, the empty plates were whisked away and the main delivered. Expect they wanted our table for a second sitting. Certainly could not complain about the speed of service!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our favorite in Port Douglas”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Nautilus is our favorite by far after trying many of the restaurants in Port Douglas over two trips there. We found the food and drinks excellent; full disclosure - we haven't been to Harrison's, 2Fish, or Salsa. Nautilus, however, has those beat by a mile as far as the setting - incredible. We also really enjoyed the food - most recently, my wife had the curried duck (spicy!) and I had the Coral Trout. Highly recommended for most people, definitely not for children, and well worth the somewhat spendy prices...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnpend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Work dinner with 30 people didn't hurt a bit!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

If the staff were annoyed because of our loud group, they didn't show it because they treated our party with the same courtesy and great food as other diners. I had the tiger prawn entrée and the duck main which were both amazing! Atmosphere-wise, each chair is a wooden carving of a banana leaf! Amazing!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We met the oft reviewed rude female waitress”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a fabulous waiter who was relatively new. He was just a pleasure to deal with. He was a definite 5star for service. He was very professional and the food was also very good. Unfortunately the whole experience was ruined by the blond haired waitress who was extremely rude. She shouldnt be working at any restaurant that considers itself a fine dining eatablishment. She didnt take note that all the cutlery had been placed in the finished position and kept asking us whether we had finished. My husband and I said several times that yes we had finished. She didnt hear us and instead called out 'hello!' at the same time raising her hands and making a horizontal swiping motion. She then apologized but she had ruined the evening. The male waiter was very apologetic and acknowledged how rude the waitress had been. Unfortunately, instead of the manager coming to apologize for the shortcomings of the waitress, we were again faced with the waitress apologizing and saying that she had only wanted to get our attention. It was a very unexpected end to an otherwise enjoyble evening. The unfortunate thing is that this waitress had not come near us that evening at all. It is a pity that she had to ruin the mood of the evening. We asked for the bill and cut the evening short.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Poznesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nautilus Restaurant also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Nautilus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing