We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice experience”

Nautilus Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 117 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $75
Cuisines: Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Elegant outdoor dining in the tropical rainforest of North Queensland. We specialise in romantic dinners for 2 to group functions and weddings.
Uitgeest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We spend an e evening with Nautilus in January and we really enjoyed it.
Impressive setting, nice wine list and food was excellent. It is not cheap but not much more then many restaurant in Port Douglas with less quality. Must do in Port Douglas!

Helpful?
Thank Annet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,044
    320
    153
    75
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

One of the best restaurants my partner and I have been too. Food is beautiful to look at and delicious - fine dining!!! Restaurant is so different and lovely outside in the open amongst the trees so beautiful at night. Only thing we found was the price compared to back home in New Zealand was expensive, wanted to have entree but kept to main and dessert. If you are in Port Douglas highly recommend you come for the experience!!! Very romantic setting. Went November 2011. Very friendly staff.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ToniandCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exquisite dining experience”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Nautilus has a unique setting, perched amongst the rainforest with operable canopies that can open or protect the dining platforms. I thought it was a wonderful atmosphere and captured the essence of being in Far North Queensland. The high backed cane chairs were elegant, comfortable and beautiful. We started with mango daiquiris on the lounge platform (not to be missed) and then moved to our table. Service was brisk, informative and professional. I had the mud crab with chilli and lemon grass and my wife had the Japanese seafood platter. Both meals were superb. The waitress suggested that side dishes would not be necessary with these meals, which we appreciated. We both had the Nautilus soufflé for dessert, which was exquisite. Wines were not cheap, but you wouldn't expect that at a restaurant of this calibre. I thought that for the quality of the experience the prices were reasonable. Overall it was a wonderful night that I would highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Arrived expecting something special. Despite the "outdoor" dining it somehow lacked atmosphere. If you looked beyond the very dim lighting the fixtures looked very tired. Prices were over the top with mains $40 to $65, and wines around $70 to $140 for good but not great bottles. We skipped entrees as we were hungry and keen to get to the meal. However we made the mistake of of ordering the house bread; $9.90 for a poppyseed roll sliced into 4 portions with butter, oil & balsamic. Mains took 50 minutes to arrive. Despite requests through two separate waitresses no explanation was provided, this was while watching diners who arrived later being served prior to our meals arriving. One staff member seemed to suggest that if we wanted better service we should have ordered entrees! The meals were good but didn't justify the cost. The service and staff were well below par. The overall impression is a restuarant living on reputation and past it's prime. Disappointing.

Helpful?
3 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Finally, a restaurant that understands fine dining!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

As you enter the spectacular setting of Nautilus Restaurant, you immediately know that you are going to have a great dining experience. Smiles from the friendly staff as you enter the restaurant and a leisurely cocktail in their comfort canopy lounge ensures that you begin your evening (they only open for dbycqnpnner) in the best possible way. I has a chilli margerita and my partner had a mango daiquiri which were both exquisite. Once we had finished our drinks we were politely asked whether we would like to take our table.

Water was poured while the waiter (I think his name was Rob) introduced himself and asked to take a drink order. As we were having matching wines with our degustation I told him this was not necessary and he cheerfully left and prepared us for our meal. All seven courses were fantastic, in particular the duck ravioli and the creme brulée. The matching wines suited each course and we finished full and very satisfied.

We will definitely be recommending Nautilus to any of our friends visiting Port Douglas as we thoroughly enjoyed our evening there. The atmosphere allows for a pleasant, relaxing evening where you can enjoy the company of whoever you're with. Top marks to Nautilus for a great night!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexanderDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nautilus Restaurant also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Nautilus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing