We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding meal”
Review of Zinc Port Douglas

Zinc Port Douglas
Ranked #19 of 118 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Opened in December 2004, Zinc has become a must do for visitors and a favourite venue for locals. Since opening, the restaurant has picked up many awards including restaurant of the year for Far North Queensland. Call in for a coffee, cake, cocktail, snack, light lunch or to use our free wi-fi at any time from 10am daily. Or visit Zinc in the evening to sample the superb dinner menu featuring fresh local seafood and produce; offering something for everyone including many Gluten free and vegetarian options. Kids also dine free at dinner with one free meal from the children’s menu for every main course ordered before 6pm. Looking for a relaxed spot for a drink? Zinc's casual lounge bar features a large range of wines by the glass, over 70 cocktails, over 110 spirits & liqueurs and a selection of cold beers on tap.....perfect for that pre-dinner drink or after-dinner nightcap. Every day from 4-5pm Zinc also offers specially-priced cocktails & beer of the day. Be sure to plan a visit to Zinc during your visit to the Port Douglas.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our wedding meal”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We eloped to Port Douglas in January 2014. Our only companion was our beloved Akita, Indie. Zinc arranged for us to sit outside so we could have Indie with us (she was the bridesmaid). The service was excellent, every course was beautifully presented and delicious and the espresso martinis are delicious and dangerous. Wait till you see the aquarium in the bathroom. The staff and management were delightful. Can’t wait to go back for our anniversary.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,001
    635
    188
    51
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Food With Good Friends”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I have just eaten here with 6 friends who live locally.There were 7 of us and, this is my first time here, but my friends have been numerous times.
The waitresses were very much on the ball giving advice when requested and demonstrated a very good knowledge of what was on the menu.
My favorite dish was the caramelized pork belly with a salad and nam jim dressing.
We had a number of different courses which were all beautifully presented and tasted fantastic
We were all very impressed with the level of service considering it was quite busy on this particular evening.
I have no idea on whether it was good value or not,as I was shouted to this meal (lucky me!).
Judging by the quality of the food though, I would come back again ,as there were plenty of people here, and, that doesn't normally happen if a restaurant is no good.
Just as a side note, the toilet is incredible with the floor to ceiling aquarium window while at the urinal.A bit surreal!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoastrunnerVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great night, great place”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Went to Zinc with friends, party included 3 children aged 3-6 years. Children were well catered for with a kids menu. Service was terrific, food was excellent. Overall a pleasing experience, and will be back again........keep up the good work!

Helpful?
Thank Rick_Smoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River Region, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Slow service, poor food”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We dined as a small group of friends on a Saturday night. The restaurant was busy but not busy enough for service to be as slow as it was seeing all the staff that were on shift..
We were seated and then after at least 15 minutes poured water and pressed for a food order - we hadn't even been told specials. We ordered breads and entrées to share but were delivered a wrong dish so had to wait further for that to come out. The staff took excessive amounts of time between us finishing to actually clearing the table and getting a fresh round of drinks.. mains followed with a dry overcooked steak, dry overcooked pork and a liquid risotto with a lack of fresh herbs/seasoning. We sent the pork back only for it to come back raw in the middle. The waitstaff was lovely and helpful when it came to the food but having an open kitchen made it obvious when the food went back that the chefs were irritated and took it out on her. It is also obvious in this restaurant that waiting sections are allocated. I understand as to why they are implemented but I thought as a team everyone still helped in other sections where needed? There should have been no reason for slow service with the amount of staff on duty especially when other staff acknowledge you but do nothing to help. It really is a shame as this restaurant is in a great location with so much potential! Big let down on the food considering the high quality of local and fresh produce readily available. Sorry guys but we won't be back or recommending.

Helpful?
2 Thank realfoodie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“excellent service”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Great location in the middle of town. The service was extraordinary. The wait staff were all travellers and simply interested in the diners. A real delight. The barramundi was superbly cooked. A limited wine list but some great selections. Recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SteveA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zinc Port Douglas also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Zinc Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing