We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never fails to impress”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zinc Port Douglas

Zinc Port Douglas
Ranked #15 of 116 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opened in December 2004, Zinc has become a must do for visitors and a favourite venue for locals. Since opening, the restaurant has picked up many awards including restaurant of the year for Far North Queensland. Call in for a coffee, cake, cocktail, snack, light lunch or to use our free wi-fi at any time from 10am daily. Or visit Zinc in the evening to sample the superb dinner menu featuring fresh local seafood and produce; offering something for everyone including many Gluten free and vegetarian options. Kids also dine free at dinner with one free meal from the children’s menu for every main course ordered before 6pm. Looking for a relaxed spot for a drink? Zinc's casual lounge bar features a large range of wines by the glass, over 70 cocktails, over 110 spirits & liqueurs and a selection of cold beers on tap.....perfect for that pre-dinner drink or after-dinner nightcap. Every day from 4-5pm Zinc also offers specially-priced cocktails & beer of the day. Be sure to plan a visit to Zinc during your visit to the Port Douglas.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Never fails to impress”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Lunch and dinner always great. Balmy weather makes the place so special, the breeze is welcome. Staff are always friendly and fun. The food is delcious and the wine list has some great drops.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark_cloudninedesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    951
    601
    176
    46
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“5 days in Port Douglas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Every night we were on the main street in Port Douglas trying the many restaurants here. Zinc was great during the day and evening as they have a cosy side lounge area for snacks as well as a large fine dining area. Staff were friendly and as long as you have a drink you can have access to WiFi too!

Helpful?
Thank nigelbrown2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Simply Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We ate here as a group of 5 on our first night in Port Douglas. Zinc is a well set out open restaurant with a great atmosphere!

All of our meals were fantastic, I had the Zinc Kangaroo Salad = AMAZING! The cocktail were slightly expensive however large and delicious, so worth the cost!

The service was great, and prompt - Would definitely go back again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ebonybridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great atmosphere and good cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We went to Zinc for a lazy late lunch. The ambience was lovely and cocktail that was recommended to me was great. Service was also fantastic. Food was tasty. Great place to just relax for a drink and small meal!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mralanku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
416 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Continually Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is one of our favourite restaurants in Port Douglas. They are consistently good in food, service and cocktails. My only criticism is because we eat here every year we have noticed that the menu has changed very little if at all and perhaps that's something they need to look at for the regulars. The service is always excellent and the staff courteous and attentive. Ask for a street table. Table 23 appears to be the best in the house. The Mojito's are a great starter to any cocktail hour. They are sadly no longer open for breakfast but then you have lunch and dinner to explore.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jinny57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zinc Port Douglas also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Zinc Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing