We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place to eat”
Review of Zinc Port Douglas

Zinc Port Douglas
Ranked #17 of 117 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opened in December 2004, Zinc has become a must do for visitors and a favourite venue for locals. Since opening, the restaurant has picked up many awards including restaurant of the year for Far North Queensland. Call in for a coffee, cake, cocktail, snack, light lunch or to use our free wi-fi at any time from 10am daily. Or visit Zinc in the evening to sample the superb dinner menu featuring fresh local seafood and produce; offering something for everyone including many Gluten free and vegetarian options. Kids also dine free at dinner with one free meal from the children’s menu for every main course ordered before 6pm. Looking for a relaxed spot for a drink? Zinc's casual lounge bar features a large range of wines by the glass, over 70 cocktails, over 110 spirits & liqueurs and a selection of cold beers on tap.....perfect for that pre-dinner drink or after-dinner nightcap. Every day from 4-5pm Zinc also offers specially-priced cocktails & beer of the day. Be sure to plan a visit to Zinc during your visit to the Port Douglas.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Went to Zinc with 6 friends and found the staff really friendly and fun. Food was excellent as were the cocktails. Had a really funny English waitress who made the night a lot of fun , as did the cocktail waiter who went out of his way to mix us up some fabulous cocktails. Great night

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMC3436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    963
    607
    179
    46
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food at reasonable prices.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Zinc is one of seven or eight Port Douglas restaurants that offer high quality food and service at reasonable prices. Include in any Port Douglas gourmet tour!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bobandjudyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We have frequented Zinc for many years and find it one of the best restaurants in Port Douglas. The food is always of the highest standard and the staff courteous, friendly and obviously well trained resulting in outstanding service. And, unlike some restaurants here who are reluctant to reserve a specific table, we have never had a problem with this at Zinc.

Our first dinner at Zinc this year was no exception. I had the twice cooked duck leg in which the meat literally fell off the bone, two others in our party of four had steaks which they described as excellent while the fourth had the barramundi which he said was delicious.

We look forward to dining at Zinc again before we leave.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Max A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good quality food, service and ambience”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

On the corner of the two main streets in town, Davidson and Macrossan - a lovely restaurant open to the street, yet protected. We found the food and menu range was excellent with plenty of wine choices to match. Also the staff were most helpful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GlobalRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A very disappointing lunch”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I decided to take my last lunch In Port Douglas at Zinc and what a terrible decision that was. I can't believe this place has ANY good reviews. I ordered just some warm ciabatta with oil and balsamic to start. Then, due to an allergy, I asked if the mango salsa accompanying the prawns had raw onion in. The answer was yes, so I asked if the chef could just put a couple of slices of plain mango on there instead. NO!! Everything is already made up, and either they couldn't be bothered or they had completely run out of mangoes?Are these chefs or rejects from fast food places? In the end the waiter put two bits of orange from his bar on instead, but the prawns came out one minute after my ciabatta starter (it tasted funny anyway, so I left it), the lychee stir fry was a teaspoonful and the 4 prawns were cold. Overpriced, over-rated and rubbish.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zinc Port Douglas also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Zinc Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing