We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribly slow service and sub-standard food”

Star Of Siam Port Douglas
Ranked #38 of 117 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
LONDON, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
164 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Terribly slow service and sub-standard food”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We went with high hopes to dine at this Thai restaurant on a Saturday night. It really didn’t work out well. One hour after we sat down we had still not received our starters. We saw them go to another table. A waiter told us there were problems in the kitchen. He was right, because it was another ten minutes before our very average starters showed up.
Our main courses came more quickly but were only just about okay, as they were lacking many of the authentic ingredients found in Thai curries. The flavour was passable, but the recipes just weren’t quite right.
They told us they were short staffed, but it seemed more like disorganised. There were staff flying around in all directions and food arrived in random order at all the tables. Then it took a long time to get the bill. Many people looked disgruntled and unhappy.
Frankly, we were glad to leave and wouldn't go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toofastcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    234
    66
    35
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best THAI in Port Douglas”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We visited this place twice on our stay. It was great, We BYO wine from next door. they only charge $1 per head cork and happy to provide you nice glasses. We had an entertaining experience with the waiter who was Korean, She was a little shy at first but i joked and made her laugh. She even did Gangnam style! Staff are great and allways around to assist. Panang Gai (number 17) is the favourite chicken dish and food size was huge. We could not finish all the food.

Definetly dont waste time at other places that lack and visit Star of Siam

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patrickselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Baddd food & service”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

we ordered a soup, WOW, we can't say how BADDDD this was, IGA soup would take better
While eating the soup, 3-4 times different waiters came to ask, do you want something more?
When we asked for the bill, twice, no one came back, we had to walk to the bar and asked to the bill and make payment.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great BYO”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

lovely food, reasonably priced. We enjoyed it so much we went twice during our 4-night stay and would have gone again if we'd stayed longer. Fresh and tasty.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sueypooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Loved the food at this restaurant! Everything was so full of flavour and was such great value for money!

Even better it was BYO Alcohol.

Try one of the banquets, you won't be disappointed.

Service was fine but the staff don't speak english too well so make sure you speak slowly and clearly and you should be fine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doofynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Of Siam Port Douglas also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Star Of Siam Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing