We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whoa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Salsa Bar & Grill

Salsa Bar & Grill
Ranked #4 of 116 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of Port Douglas, this 'must-do', award winning restaurant encompasses all that dining in the tropics should be, fun, fresh, dynamic & memorable. Operating for over 20 years, Salsa's reputation derives from its amazing and eclectic menu, extensive wine list, professional and friendly staff as well as a bustling and vibrant atmosphere.Whether dining with a friend, family, group or wedding - you can't go past a good Salsa experience!
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Whoa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Definitely best place in Port Douglas and one of the best restaurants I've been to.

try their stake.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank apmdimka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,094 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,076
    698
    210
    69
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best food & service in Port Douglas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

We arrived for lunch & were greeted by smiling staff who seated us promptly and explained things well. We drank a cocktail each that was perfect for warm weather & were served an amazing two entrees. Pulled Pork Poppers & Yellowfin Tuna tartare left us wanting to lick the plate - amazing presentation & flavour. Just when we thought we couldn't be amazed anymore our Tapas tasting plates arrived to further gastronomic excitement! The 5 tasty morsels were beautifully displayed and tasted even better. The best Barramundi spring rolls in P.D. Order one plate each as you won't want to share! We finished with two desserts that kept the standard high - Ice cream tower & Strawberry Pannacotta. We'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank Shaun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Made a booking here for 4 people and my 2yo. When we arrived we were told to sit at the bar, after 25minutes of looking at a table that we were sure was ours, I asked when we would be seated. They weren't busy, but the waiter just pointed to the table we had been looking at. Finally a waitress came to us a good 5 minutes later, I ordered a drink which wasn't received until after my main. We had the home made Turkish bread and dips which were yummy and probably the only thing on the menu reasonably priced. I picked out pork that was $24 and then was told it was only an entree, gave that a miss as I had seen the entree sizes. Picked the pomegranate lamb for main which I think was $36, lamb was over cooked and not worth the money. My husbands steak was also ordered rare and cooked med/well. After looking at our mains and how much we had already spent on things that, as a housewife, I could have cooked better at home... We didn't bother with dessert.
I love eating at expensive restaurants because they are normally superb, this was not.

Helpful?
4 Thank Kirei d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly, helpful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Yummy starters, the Thai chicken spring rolls and the pulled pork poppers were very good. We had the special for main, slow cooked sirloin with goats cheese mash, peppercorn sauce and beetroot relish, really good. Just had enough room to share the chocolate and Cointreau soufflé which is a must. It looked like most other diners thought the same judging by the number coming from the open kitchen. Staff were lovely, helping us make menu choices and chatting while clearing plates. Make sure you book in advance as I don't think they had any walk-up tables available on a Tuesday evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjkwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice but wouldn't say its the best in port douglas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a night out here with my parents. The food was nice but our meals were all luke warm and fish over cooked. Service was good but no atmosphere I found it noisy near the fake fountain. I wouldn't say romantic. Harrisons or watergate are romantic.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Salsa Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing