We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value Good food”
Review of Salsa Bar & Grill

Salsa Bar & Grill
Ranked #4 of 118 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $29
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Port Douglas, this 'must-do', award winning restaurant encompasses all that dining in the tropics should be, fun, fresh, dynamic & memorable. Operating for over 20 years, Salsa's reputation derives from its amazing and eclectic menu, extensive wine list, professional and friendly staff as well as a bustling and vibrant atmosphere.Whether dining with a friend, family, group or wedding - you can't go past a good Salsa experience!
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value Good food”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

If you want to try this restaurant, please make sure you make reservation early because they are so famous and the food is really good here. The portion of food is slightly bigger and the price is slightly cheaper than others. Very comfortable to have meals here and we definitely will go back again.

Helpful?
Thank GheeSeong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,183
    737
    227
    71
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and buzzing environment”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

If you are looking for a quiet romantic meal this isn't the best restaurant in Port Douglas, however, if you want a vibrant environment with great staff and fantastic food then this is the place, just remember to book or pop in an hour before you want to eat to see if they can fit you in. Upon first entering the restaurant you may think it looks a little too casual, however, the upbeat staff are extremely polite from start to finish, they give great service and although busy, they still keep on top of things. Add to this the food and its a winner, I had the kangaroo steak and it was one of the best pieces of meat I have ever had, cooked to perfection. If you have a few days in Port Douglas be sure to put this place on your 'to eat at' list.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jonjon1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Salsalicious.....”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Based on Trip Advisor reviews and that of the local beautician, our group of 11 decided to try this for a birthday celebration and we were not disappointed. With a great location on Wharf street the restaurant overlooks the inlet, sugar wharf and the gorgeous chapel used for so many weddings.

Ambiance is really good of an evening and the modern international menu suited a variety of tastes. Staff were great at explaining the menu which is modern international (a little bit of everything for everyone ) and answering questions, so we all felt we ordered well to suit our preferred palates. The entrée scallops and barramundi main course were particularly liked by our group. Food tasted as good as it sounded on the menu so we were not disappointed.

Sure to suit will recommend to others....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 111jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Where the locals eat”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Salsa Bar is an icon in Port Douglas with its relaxed atmosphere and consistently great food. It is generally where you will find the locals eat out. Over the 8 years we have visited Port Douglas we have never been disappointed with the food or service at Salsa Bar. When we arrive in Port Douglas for holidays each year we ensure it is around lunch time and Salsa Bar is always lunch on day 1 !!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Niftys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Lovely setting and good service however some of the dishes were a little disappointing. Three of our party of six had barramundi served on rice however it proved to be a little lacking in flavour. My husband had the lamb which while having more flavour was also not as good as we expected.

Looking at previous reviews it maybe that we were just unlucky in our selection. We have eaten at Salsa on previous visits and had always been satisfied.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pammelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Salsa Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing