We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Of The Best In Port Douglas”
Review of Salsa Bar & Grill

Salsa Bar & Grill
Ranked #4 of 117 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of Port Douglas, this 'must-do', award winning restaurant encompasses all that dining in the tropics should be, fun, fresh, dynamic & memorable. Operating for over 20 years, Salsa's reputation derives from its amazing and eclectic menu, extensive wine list, professional and friendly staff as well as a bustling and vibrant atmosphere.Whether dining with a friend, family, group or wedding - you can't go past a good Salsa experience!
Doncaster
1 review
“One Of The Best In Port Douglas”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

People do advise to book early although you may get lucky, as we did, by arriving around 5:30 and checking if anything is available. It's definitely worth kicking off proceedings with a cocktail as these guys know their stuff - ask for recommendations. We were lucky enough to have a seat next to the street as the sun was setting over the nearby sea. Food was sublime, service casual, knowledgeable and friendly and respect goes to the staff who reel off the lengthy daily specials from memory - shame I couldn't remember any of them by the time they had finished! Having eaten in Harrisons, 2 Fish and several other establishments, this is definately up there with the very best Port Douglas has to offer from our experience. For the food purest I would say Harrisons would be my top choice although my wife disagrees and would opt for Salsa. Definately comes recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kriss G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,097
    710
    214
    71
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Restaurant”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

There is no doubt that Salsa is the best experience we have had in Port Douglas. We have dined here many times and have never had a bad meal. The restaurant is an open air Queenslander style building overlooking St Marys' church and the surrounding parkland. Bill and his team produce the finest food and the atmosphere, cocktails and staff are fantastic. They have dinner plates autographed by many famous people lining the walls and bar ceiling which also adds to experience.. Plan ahead and make a booking. The food is fantastic and the experience is well worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GDS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not sure”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Had some lunch here on Monday fish special it was ok although I felt it was ordinary for a waterfront restaurant the brulee desert was nice. Again palm cove is ahead in food. Paul

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pacamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and cocktails”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Had a fabulous meal at Salsa - the fish was to die for. Went with few friends and had a great night in which everyone loved their meals. I am an expert on espresso martini's and found this the best one I have ever had as they rimmed the glass with vanilla sugar. Must make bookings well in advanced - we booked weeks before.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMC3436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FNQ on a plate!....”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This is one of our favourite restaurants to visit when we come to Port Douglas, we have dined many times & have never had a bad meal, the staff are always lovely & they always seem to get us a seat even when they are busy... We bring all out friends and family that come to the far north to visit us- its a great way to show off the local produce & atmosphere
Only complaint we have found is that dietary requirements can be an issue for the chefs- as they don't like to change the menu around - but if your like us & eat it all then this is the place to eat!...
Oh & they make beautiful cocktails too :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Friday1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Salsa Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing