We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salsa Bar & Grill

Salsa Bar & Grill
Ranked #5 of 116 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of Port Douglas, this 'must-do', award winning restaurant encompasses all that dining in the tropics should be, fun, fresh, dynamic & memorable. Operating for over 20 years, Salsa's reputation derives from its amazing and eclectic menu, extensive wine list, professional and friendly staff as well as a bustling and vibrant atmosphere.Whether dining with a friend, family, group or wedding - you can't go past a good Salsa experience!
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were looking forward to this as THE place in Port Douglas. We couldn't make a reservation for several days it was so popular. Our waiter was welcoming and helpful. The entree was great and a different taste experience. Our main meals were a little adventurous and promised much. Mine was lovely, however it was a veal dish and I had to give half of mine to my husband. A warning - if you want medium rare, expect rare. My medium was beautiful but I chose to pass half to my husband as his medium rare was too rare and inedible. The accompanying vegetables (pureed spinach, jus and custard) were lovely. It was a pity that the chef's interpretation of medium rare disappointed our experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,029 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,033
    683
    205
    67
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

These guys really know food! Steak was perfect and the staff know every item by memory. We were lucky to get a table and got looked after from start to finish.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hugh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Wow! This place did not disappoint. Food was excellent and the service attentive without being overbearing. Presentation was excellent. Definitely our favourite restaurant in Queensland.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice open air, good location, but would not go back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Salsa has a nice open air seating with a good location, food was good, but expensive (like the majority of restaurants in Port Douglas and Australia). Service was ok, but staff did not go out of their way to play attention to our needs during the meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalRoadRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection in every way..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I happened upon what was already a buzzing restaurant just after watching the sunset....and were we in for an amazing gastronomic experience! From the moment we were sat at our table, we were consistently impressed. The staff, all busy, but so attentive to our needs and satisfaction levels were casual but so knowledgeable about every aspect of the menu. Don't go past the chicken and banana spring rolls....the pairing of these two unlikely flavours set the scene for the remainder of the meal. our mains, both specials of the day, were creatively put together both in presentation and taste. Again the unexpected combination of flavours and textures made for a desire for the plate contents to never end. Our meal was finished off with a beautifully presented dessert tasting plate for two....and yes! another level of satisfaction reached. The only comment I would make is that while the wine and beverage list was just right, it was possibly a bit pricey. We bought the recipe book....and we have it on our hit list for next time we visit Port Douglas! ps we advise that you book well ahead of time......no wonder it was booked out for four nights straight!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kylieb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Salsa Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing