We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish Curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of On The Inlet

On The Inlet
Ranked #10 of 116 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We welcome you to join us at On The Inlet: Port Douglas' iconic seafood restaurant + bar located over the beautiful Coral Sea. We're here to tantalise your taste buds with the finest fresh local seafoods and an inspiring tropical cocktail list in Port Douglas' most enviable waterside location (reservations highly recommended)
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fish Curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

My wife a I dined here after reading good reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not dissapointed. Both food and service were excellent, the head waiter spent lots of time explaining each dish. They even prepared some curry sauce for my wife to try before ordering, as she does not like it to spicey.

The fish curry was excellent, not some thing my wife would normally have. The spaghetti marinara is also worth trying, with so much fish the bowl was over loaded.

In addition to the food being excellent, the location is also perfect. Don't be put off by the cheaper looking tables and chairs, this place is well worth trying if you are in Port Douglas.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank neilinbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,198
    648
    211
    55
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent service and extremely child friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Prior to booking I checked reviews on this restaurant and I saw a review regarding how child unfriendly this place was & they did not allow prams, so I thought I would call to check the situation. The person on the phone was extremely friendly & explained prams are more than welcome in the restaurant and or a high chair. They just can't accommodate prams in the bar at 5pm when it is packed for Groper feeding, however they have pram parking areas and are very accommodating for babies.

Our lunch was delicious, our baby slept in the pram and also ate at the highchair. There was a baby change table and the staff could not have been more accommodating for our baby. A wonderful long lunch enjoyed in a fabulous location, could rave high enough about the whole experience and very baby/children friendly!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 13Lee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at On The Inlet, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hi 13Lee13
thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your experience. We love babies and children and are pleased you helped clarify what we do offer for families. Because of licensing and space, the bar area is not suitable for prams, but babies and children are welcome everywhere else!
We also have a children’s menu, with colouring activities, and plenty of waterfront action for entertainment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“love the fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

i love the whole sweet chili fried snapper. its one of the best if not the best dish in town . i prefer the snapper over the barramundi its big enough to feed 2 people .comes with a vietnamese coleslaw, rice i cant vouch for the other dishes because im addicted to this one, this restaurant has got the primary position in port douglas with water views over the inlet .the service is friendly .it does not dissapoint

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ianePd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best seafood ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

This was the best seafood I have ever had. We got the seafood platter for two- and wow. It tasted so incredibly fresh it was fantastic. Cocktails were amazing, service was amazing (friendly staff and very professional). Amazing value for money and great atmosphere. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shar555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at On The Inlet, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hi Shar,
Thanks for the lovely feedback and recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent food and venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch on a Monday with two young kids. Staff friendly-enough and we got a good table with outlook over the water (as does almost every table really). I thought the food was great though. I had chilli mud crab which was perfectly cooked and flavoursome. My wife had seafood laksa which was excellent (but pricey at $35). Giving it 5 stars because of the food mainly but it is a great venue for lunch

Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at On The Inlet, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hi Colin,
Thank you for your honest review. We’re pleased to hear your chilli mud crab and seafood laksa were thoroughly enjoyed and the water views made for a five star lunch! Many thanks .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Inlet also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to On The Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing