We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Good Food”
Review of On The Inlet

On The Inlet
Ranked #8 of 118 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We welcome you to join us at On The Inlet: Port Douglas' iconic seafood restaurant + bar located over the beautiful Coral Sea. We're here to tantalise your taste buds with the finest fresh local seafoods and an inspiring tropical cocktail list in Port Douglas' most enviable waterside location (reservations highly recommended)
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always Good Food”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I have been visiting PD for many years and have made a point of dining at On The Inlet on each occasion. We had dinner here during our stay in June and as always the food and service was excellent. The mosquitos are a nuisance but the restaurant supplies bug spray and it's a small price to pay for the beautiful view.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,299
    701
    234
    59
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best whole fish ever!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Well designed, friendly staff, reasonably good value for the quality you get. We ordered Barra Rilette for entree which was beautiful. The main blew us away. Whole Snapper cooked with crispy skin and thai flavours. Absolutely best whole fish we have ever had.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at On The Inlet, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hello John,
The barramundi rillette is truly moreish isn’t it!
Thank you so much for taking the time to recommend dining on local seafood with us at On The Inlet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Bucket of Prawns and A Beer”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We love coming here every time we go to Port Douglas. Attached to the restaurant is a fabulous bar with amazing views over the inlet. From 4pm you can have a bucket of delicious prawns with a wine or beer while you watch the boats return from the reef. An unforgettable experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lavendula61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at On The Inlet, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Ah....bucket of prawns and an icy beer for sunset.....simple pleasures!
Sounds good to me too!
Thank you for sharing your experience X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful whole fish”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We asked the waiter for a recommendation which he said the whole fish which was snapper -I have never seen fish presented like it -huge whole fish standing on its belly bending as if swimming -everyone gasped when delivered to the table -brilliant photo opportunity it also tasted every bit as fantastic as it looked served with a Thai salad nothing else needed. Our table for five was at the waters edge with very attentive staff -wonderful memories

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank astonmartin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Barramundi wow”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Magnificent whole barramundi with Thai salad, monster mud crab, fresh mackerel, fantastic view and outstanding service.

We had one of the greatest afternoon's ever at the inlet today and highly recommend it to lovers of seafood and quintessential Port Douglas.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at On The Inlet, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hello Antoinette,

“ Magnificent….fantastic…..outstanding…one of the greatest “
….aww shucks…
and huge thanks for your appreciation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Inlet also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to On The Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing