We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent views & great seafood.”
Review of On The Inlet

On The Inlet
Ranked #8 of 115 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We welcome you to join us at On The Inlet: Port Douglas' iconic seafood restaurant + bar located over the beautiful Coral Sea. We're here to tantalise your taste buds with the finest fresh local seafoods and an inspiring tropical cocktail list in Port Douglas' most enviable waterside location (reservations highly recommended)
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Magnificent views & great seafood.”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Nothing fancy. Just fresh seafood, stunning views & good service. Can't ask for much more. Always pleased to be here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at On The Inlet, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thanks Nick!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,252
    678
    220
    55
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot to watch sunset.”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Open sitting area to watch sunset and have wine and appetizers. Also to watch grouper feedings! George comes in by tradition to be feed. He is huge. Friendly staff, good food. Have reservations.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ordinaryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Could be a gem, staff attitude adjustments required. Stat.....”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We've eaten here three to four times over the past ten years when here on holidays. Once upon a time, this place was a real gem! The food was fabulous, staff were great. The last two visits have been very poor and we won't return again. First up, the person who is currently taking phone bookings is abrupt, unhelpful and sounds totally jaded when answering the phone. She was just as rude and surly when we had the displeasure of meeting her when we arrived. Frowning and abrupt, due to the fact we had a few questions about George the Poor Ol' Grouper....

George is a poor, enormous Grouper who visits each afternoon while On the Inlet rakes in tourist $$$$$ at his expense. People clamour five feet deep from the deck to see this huge fish swim up the inlet to try to bite a fish head off a rope that some jaded staff member flings out into the water. On this visit, we witnessed a woman punching a man as he asked her not to lean on him to see George. On the same visit, we watched and assisted when a woman fainted. We could see, and have seen before, many issues arise due to inadequate seating and facilities for patrons. The problem is that On The Inlet are not managing this 'attraction' in a safe, child friendly, or even adult friendly, manner. Patrons are drinking, eating, it's hot and people jostle to see George. We had adults pushing into children from our family, who had been waiting patiently, STANDING, for an hour and a quarter before George arrived. Disgusting behaviour from patrons, sure, but there is not any crowd control or staff intervention in managing the 'attraction' of George's arrival and short stay.

Bar staff were also rude and unhelpful when I asked what drinks were included in happy hour. Prawns in a bucket were average and the sauce they came with was vile. Was it a bulk tub of seafood sauce?

You can't manage George, guys, but you can manage your staff and you can manage the crowd. Try getting rid of the surly, abrupt and unpleasant staff you have and then go for your life! Everything else is there at your fingertips to go gangbusters! All the best! Let me know when you're back on track.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HedonistHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at On The Inlet, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hello Hedonist,
Thank you for taking the time to send in your review.
It sounds like you experienced a pretty epic afternoon at OTI !
I just wanted to assure you that George is happy and healthy, and not cooped up in a tank like a circus performer-he is a free, wild fish who comes in for a tunahead treat as he sees fit, obviously much to everybody’s wild delight!
We certainly never exceed our restaurant and bar capacity, and at this hour of the day, especially during school holidays, it is very often “ standing room only” in the bar area.
Fortunately, there are now some really lovely grassed areas along the Inlet now for people to enjoy a little more serenity than what we offer from 3-30-5.30 pm with our Sunset Specials and George’s feed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Coal Trout”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had had just the best lunch at On the Inlet, played Golf for the morning and arranged to have a lunch just before the kitchen closed - well let's say the staff fitted everything together perfectly and all four of us enjoyed a beautiful meal of Coral Trout - not only cooked to perfection but served with a big beaming smile. Thank you On the Inlet.

Now come and enjoy your meal!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrinityMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at On The Inlet, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi Trinity MB,
if that doesn't sound like a decadent day's entertainment...I don't know what does!
Very much appreciated thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fab Food”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our visit started with a few drinks whilst watching the feeding of the Grouper at 5pm. Rumour has it that 'George' has gone and they are trying to entice a new grouper to feed near the jetty of the restaurant. Still entertaining though and then onto dinner on the deck overlooking the ocean. Nice spot to watch the sail boats returning and the sunset too. The Barramundi baked in a thai sauce was amazing, highly recommended if on the menu. Good service and nice relaxed atmosphere made this a memorable visit.
Our visit was the end of March and lots of mosi spray a must.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grahamjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Inlet also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to On The Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing