We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat and enjoy the PD sunset!”
Review of On The Inlet

On The Inlet
Ranked #9 of 118 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We welcome you to join us at On The Inlet: Port Douglas' iconic seafood restaurant + bar located over the beautiful Coral Sea. We're here to tantalise your taste buds with the finest fresh local seafoods and an inspiring tropical cocktail list in Port Douglas' most enviable waterside location (reservations highly recommended)
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and enjoy the PD sunset!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Really great place to watch the sunset. Staff are friendly and accommodate allergies! The local fish and chips is a must, the seafood platter is nice - but I have had better. Nothing beats the atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bibz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,304
    702
    236
    60
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great spot, great menu and very good service. A not so good dish was not charged and staff were very apologetic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sezy298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Happy Hour!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We came to have a beer and see the Giant Grouper George. A little crowded with families there to see the Grouper but we found a cute little table in the back with views or the pretty harbor. No show by George but now worries because the Fish Taco & Beer Special was the bomb! we'd go back for the tacos!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Our favourite place in Port Douglas”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have been lucky enough to dine here over a few years and every year we return it never disappoints. We always start with a drink while viewing the groper feeding - although we've never been lucky enough to see George. It really doesn't matter as there is no better place to enjoy a sunset drink over the water with a bucket of fresh prawns! Once we move to the restaurant the waiters are friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. We enjoyed a sushi platter followed by a fantastic crispy fried local fish with asian salad. Stunning! Their kids menu is great and plenty of colouring in ensured we had a relaxed and enjoyable night. I can't wait to come back next year again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place, great food, awesome bar snacks”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Highly recommend sun downers and a meal at OTI. Great location, great food, make sure to get there around 4 for some prawns , fish taco and corona . Also had an excellent dinner of full deep fried ocean trout which was phenomenal!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Inlet also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to On The Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing