We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best seafood”
Review of On The Inlet

On The Inlet
Ranked #8 of 118 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We welcome you to join us at On The Inlet: Port Douglas' iconic seafood restaurant + bar located over the beautiful Coral Sea. We're here to tantalise your taste buds with the finest fresh local seafoods and an inspiring tropical cocktail list in Port Douglas' most enviable waterside location (reservations highly recommended)
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“best seafood”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Second time here and was not disappointed. The best oysters and seafood, their Thai flash fried Coral Trout is the bomb. Great service, kid friendly, great views one of our faves!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nflores78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,299
    701
    234
    59
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best oysters in Port Douglas!!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Our return to this restaurant was just as good as our original visit. Great food, beautiful wine atmosphere by the inlet was fantastic. Staff were friendly, as well. See you next year!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimmiejmaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mud Crab!!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Enjoyed a excellent meal of Mud Crab.... First time so had to give it a go, our waiter was top rate kept us entertained throughout the night, menu selections is great but as mentioned had to try the mud crab but a wide variety available surf turf and kids meals..... Refreshments as per all the bars in Port Douglas refreshing..... All in all a great experience, returned the next day to view the local attraction "George the Groper" or should I say Groper's..... certainly worth a look.... Cheers team at "On the Inlet"

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ordinary”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Had a wonderful table by the water but food was very ordinary and staffs behaviour bordered on arrogant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandgesler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, fresh seafood”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We dined here on our last night in Port Douglas as a treat as the prices are fairly expensive.
We arrived at 7 and were seated immediately, unfortunately it was dark by then so no views of the water. We asked for drinking water, which took a long time to come, service was slow and not personal at all. Menus plonked on table and disinterested waitress looked like she had better things to do. For the prices charged we would have expected better service. However we noted the service was lacking in quite a few places we went to so we think it might just be the more relaxed Queensland vibe. Also a lot of the staff are backpacker type, on working holiday visas.
The food when it came was fantastic. We had mussels which were delicious, and it was a generous size for an entree. Followed by spaghetti marinara. We would recommend this dish, it was great. Quality fresh seafood and plenty of it. Generous serve again and good value for the $35 price tag. The wine list was fairly good, quite a selection to choose from.
Overall we were quite happy, and would recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Inlet also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to On The Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing