We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst chinese ever.”

Jade Inn Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 117 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worst chinese ever.”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were very disappointed in the quality and taste of this food. The san choi bow we had tasted like boiled mince and neither of the mains had any flavour whatsoever... This with a few drinks cost over $100

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee-Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    197
    65
    25
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service good food”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We ordered the standard foods beef and black bean, sweet and sour chicken and a large fried rice...it didn't take too long the food tasted great and the service was really friendly but the chicken was the stand out dish it was actual chicken breast in batter that just stringed apart with every bite..the price was a little over average but that is to be expected in a tourist retreat
Will be back soon

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SamGTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant not bland?”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile


We visited the Jade inn, Macrossan St on Easter Sunday not only was the service friendly and very attentive but the food was extraordinary. We shared the sizzling garlic king prawns and barramundi stir fry in chilli sauce. Both were excellent. The prawns, tender and tasty the barra full of flavour. My mouth is watering just recalling the meal!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional Quality!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

After a long line of disappointments with restaurants at Port Douglas my friend and I believed we truly struck gold with this restaurant!

We had ordered chicken fried rice and were extremely glad that the host had provided us with all that we requested at no extra charge i.e. plates, forks, etc.

Not the cheapest chinese food I've ever eaten but definitely a light at the end of the tunnel with tasty food after a long struggle!

Would definitely recommend this place to all!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, New York
Level Contributor
541 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
“Pleasant place, good food”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a nice, relaxing meal here and the food was pretty good, but not excellent.

It's a definite step up from the fast-food type Chinese food that you might get in some take-out places, but it wasn't the very best, either. I've had better in many places, primarily because the sauces here seemed to have somewhat muted flavors.

If in Port Douglas again in the future, I'd consider returning if my cravings leaned toward Chinese food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade Inn Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Jade Inn Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing