We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Quality!”

Jade Inn Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 118 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional Quality!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

After a long line of disappointments with restaurants at Port Douglas my friend and I believed we truly struck gold with this restaurant!

We had ordered chicken fried rice and were extremely glad that the host had provided us with all that we requested at no extra charge i.e. plates, forks, etc.

Not the cheapest chinese food I've ever eaten but definitely a light at the end of the tunnel with tasty food after a long struggle!

Would definitely recommend this place to all!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    206
    68
    25
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
DeWitt, New York
Level 6 Contributor
583 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
“Pleasant place, good food”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a nice, relaxing meal here and the food was pretty good, but not excellent.

It's a definite step up from the fast-food type Chinese food that you might get in some take-out places, but it wasn't the very best, either. I've had better in many places, primarily because the sauces here seemed to have somewhat muted flavors.

If in Port Douglas again in the future, I'd consider returning if my cravings leaned toward Chinese food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice service but bland”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for flavor - go somewhere else- service was fine- but the two dishes tasted exactly the same- ordered chow Marin and chic with cashew nuts- and beyond bland.

Helpful?
2 Thank rella118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“High Quality”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 weeks in Port Douglas and just happened to come across this place one night looking for something to eat for tea. We are glad we did because it is some of the best Chinese we have ever eaten. Definitely worth it, also they do delivery to resorts in the area.

Helpful?
2 Thank 935569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is a good Chinese restaurant in the heart of Port Douglas. The quality of the food is pretty good, however the quantity isn't generous and the prices are a lot higher than the Chinese food found in other areas but are on par with Port Douglas prices. The menu is what you'd find at your local Chinese restaurant.

Be careful of the how much alcohol you order as it can be more expensive than the food. Seven of us went for dinner and we had two rounds. The beer ended up costing more than the food.

Would I go back? I wouldn't avoid it but I certainly wouldn't rush back. There are some other close by that I'd rate higher based on price and quantity, while of being similar quality.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade Inn Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Jade Inn Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing