We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“China Town on Macrossan”

Jade Inn Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 116 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pagewood, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“China Town on Macrossan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were introduced to this little gem by staff at the QT Resort and it was very welcome referral. We dined on great Garlic Prawns, Sizzling Mongolian Lamb and Chicken with cashew nuts. Special Fried rice is always popular with my family and fast and very friendly service from the attentive staff. A must in Port Douglas for a great change of pace in food styles.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    193
    65
    24
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious meal, friendly host.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We dined at the Jade Inn on Dec 30 and feasted on Mapo Tofu and the Lemon Chicken. Both dishes were seasoned perfectly, tasty and delicious, and the Mapo Tofu (which is my favourite) had just the right amount of heat! Our meals came out without too much delay even though it was full house. The airconditioning and fans made it very comfortable for us Kiwi's who were struggling with the Queensland summer. We were so impressed with our meal that we enquired if we could make reservations for the following night (New Years Eve) The friendly maitre'd took our phone number and said he would get back to us as they had yet to formalise the seating layout of the restaurant. He contacted me later that evening to say we had a table.
Our second meal was equally delicious. And we made the point to save room for dessert. The Banana Fritters and Deep fried ice cream were devoured very easily! Ka (the maitre'd) was very friendly and hospitable. He chatted to us like we were regulars. Its obvious he loves his job and is genuine in offering patrons a positive dining experience. The rest of the wait staff were also friendly and efficient.
We would recommend dining here for a delicious meal and friendly service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good service but average Chinese food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We dined here on the first night of our recent holiday. The service was friendly and prompt, which was a pleasant welcome to Port Douglas. Whilst the food was satisfactory, the dishes were fairly bland and uninspired. Perhaps we didn't choose wisely, but I doubt if we'll go back to try again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveMaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No frills tasty dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice on our recent visit - once because it was about the only place we could get into without having pre-booked and the second time out of choice because we liked the food the first time.

It's not the fanciest surroundings and the tables are close together but the food and service are really good. We sat inside to escape the heat - outside looked like it would be more pleasant if it wasn't so hot.

Service was fast and friendly. If you fancy Chinese food or if you're not sure what you fancy to eat, this is a good place to go.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lomacady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Traditional Aussie Chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

This is what it is - fresh, tasty and predictable Chinese food done well. All the dishes you'd expect are on the menu and it feels like a family business.
I enjoyed the food more than I thought I would (it was my daughter's suggestion) and it wasn't heavy the way some Chinese food can be.

Helpful?
Thank Red263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade Inn Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Jade Inn Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing